Campfire Foil Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Ok, I did something wrong. I tried this this week while on vacation and it burnt so bad you couldn't get the foil open. I put it "in the coals" like it said and checked it after 20 min. and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Love this! I learned about this because Cracker Barrel has it as a special its called Campire Chicken..so i had to search for it! But the chicken was so tender and juicy and everything had great flavor and clean up was nice and easy! Also i made it in the oven at 350 for 45 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I have made these many times, every time we go camping! I do have changes though that make it really good. I use hamburger instead of chicken. I also use potatoes, green peppers and onions. Lastly, I do not use oil, it makes the food really oily, I put a little butter and 2 ice cubs in the foil, this keeps everything really moist. I will put some of each in nonstick foil, throw in fire...and you have a fantastic dinner. Add some corn on the cob and you have a mighty fine dinner with almost no cleanup! Try it on the grill too, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We use chicken thighs, which protects the chicken and gives a great flavor. we also add a drop water and a pat of butter, leave a little air for expansion when wrapping, and turn over on the coals when you start to smell the food cooking. we also use everglades seqsoning. it is really good and a standard meal for our camp trips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This came out great! I kept it in the coals for a good 40 minutes, resulting in some of the food getting blackened, which actually improved the taste. I also ended up using about 5 sheets of foil, 2 sheets just wasn't stronge enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My grandma taught me to make this when I was in middle school. I've always just cooked it in the oven. Since I have such a sweet tooth i use Dorthy Lynch dressing instead of the oil and lemon juice. I also use baby carrots(sliced in half if they are very thick) instead of the mushrooms. My grandma would also make them with a hamburger and some ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyellen_08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garnett, Kansas, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
delicious flavor but found the potatoes were a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
needed more flavoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I altered this recipe with lemon & pepper and cooked it in my oven @ 500 degrees for 50 minutes to glorious results. I will use it again & highly recommend this version of a timeless classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerederd67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe is Awesome! I have seriously been waiting all winter to go camping again to make it. The only thing we changed and this was just on our vegetable preference, we added Zucchini, more mushrooms and 2 yellow bell peppers instead of the one red one. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharipassey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States