Campfire Foil Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is similar to our recipe except after peeling the onion, scoop out a little onion on top and place a beef buillion cube in the scooped out area, top with a pat of butter and twist with foil. Verry good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I've made these for years, I leave skin on ,make cuts almost to root sprinkle with parm chesse. Skins keep onion from burning when buired in coals and peel right off when cooked. Try different herbs over them also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I love to cook over the campfire at our family place in the PA mountains and I am always looking for a new idea. This site has lots of good campfire goodies. I made the onion to put ontop of burgers and it was really good. It takes much longer over the fire than on a grill with a lid. I used beef bullion powder , worchestershire and butter. Its a good make ahead item. I made it in the morning and kept cold till it was time for dinner cooking. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Cooked last night in oven, placed a bit of powdered beef stock in top of slit then sat dob of butter on top (instead of melting)then wrapped up to cook. Ate with a baked potato covered with savoury mince, bloody beauty : ) The other half didn't like very much ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DICELEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe is a whole lot better if you place a chicken or beef cube in the middle of the onion before you wrap in foil. Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! I've made it while camping and at home in the oven. The recipe is great as-is, but even better if you add a beef boullion cube in the center along with a few drops of worcestershire. It tastes like french onion soup! Great served with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
We made these while camping and even a non onion lover loved them! I did like others said and added some sprinkled vegtable boullion to each onion and they ended up flavorful and yummy. I used very large, sweet onions and because they were so big we had to cook them somewhat longer but they were well worth the wait! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that will now be a part of our camping menus all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Awesome! If you like French onion Soup then you will LOVE this recipe! I do mine a weee bit different, I buy the biggest vidillia onion & cut the "core" on top out. Squirt butter in the hole, a splash of worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt & pepper.. Wrap tightly in foil & grill 30-45 minutes. A MUST if you are camping on the grill! Enjoy, Also good with sprinkling some parmesan cheese on top. All kinds of things you can add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
A good recipe that is easy and fun and yummy. I agree with a previous reviewer to reference as to cutting out a notch in the onion and adding a beef bouillion cube. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
The onion was great but it took about 35 minuates to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States