Campfire Foil Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Awesome! If you like French onion Soup then you will LOVE this recipe! I do mine a weee bit different, I buy the biggest vidillia onion & cut the "core" on top out. Squirt butter in the hole, a splash of worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt & pepper.. Wrap tightly in foil & grill 30-45 minutes. A MUST if you are camping on the grill! Enjoy, Also good with sprinkling some parmesan cheese on top. All kinds of things you can add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I've made these for years, I leave skin on ,make cuts almost to root sprinkle with parm chesse. Skins keep onion from burning when buired in coals and peel right off when cooked. Try different herbs over them also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This recipe is very much like the one called 'Grilled Onions' on this site - they are both wonderful! I usually make them when I'm cooking corn on the grill. I always cut out a little notch of onion from the top, and insert a beef bouillon cube. This, combined with the butter, gives it an almost French Onion soup flavor. We love it! Thanks so much for reminding me of a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! I've made it while camping and at home in the oven. The recipe is great as-is, but even better if you add a beef boullion cube in the center along with a few drops of worcestershire. It tastes like french onion soup! Great served with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
We think these are great and make them just about everytime we cook out. I use spray butter to cut the calories and also throw in a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
These was very good and I plan to make them again and again. They were very decadent, and the flavor was just perfect (although they needed additional salt at the table in spite of what I thought was plenty before cooking). I made them at home in the oven, using a glass baking dish. I set the oven higher, to 450 degrees, and left the baking time the same. I also added a little olive oil before the butter. Often I've searched so hard for something different to serve as a vegetable, and I've always overlooked the simple onion! Thank you, Riverview5950, for sharing this recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is very good to make when camping. It doesn't get soggy but is tender. I will definately use this in my campfire cooking lineup again and again. BTW it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I love to cook over the campfire at our family place in the PA mountains and I am always looking for a new idea. This site has lots of good campfire goodies. I made the onion to put ontop of burgers and it was really good. It takes much longer over the fire than on a grill with a lid. I used beef bullion powder , worchestershire and butter. Its a good make ahead item. I made it in the morning and kept cold till it was time for dinner cooking. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Tastes liked cooked onion and nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good. Stuck it on campfire coals and cooked about 30 min. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States