Campfire Foil Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is very good to make when camping. It doesn't get soggy but is tender. I will definately use this in my campfire cooking lineup again and again. BTW it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I also cook this with a boullion cube....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
These was very good and I plan to make them again and again. They were very decadent, and the flavor was just perfect (although they needed additional salt at the table in spite of what I thought was plenty before cooking). I made them at home in the oven, using a glass baking dish. I set the oven higher, to 450 degrees, and left the baking time the same. I also added a little olive oil before the butter. Often I've searched so hard for something different to serve as a vegetable, and I've always overlooked the simple onion! Thank you, Riverview5950, for sharing this recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This recipe is very much like the one called 'Grilled Onions' on this site - they are both wonderful! I usually make them when I'm cooking corn on the grill. I always cut out a little notch of onion from the top, and insert a beef bouillon cube. This, combined with the butter, gives it an almost French Onion soup flavor. We love it! Thanks so much for reminding me of a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
The onion was great but it took about 35 minuates to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
A good recipe that is easy and fun and yummy. I agree with a previous reviewer to reference as to cutting out a notch in the onion and adding a beef bouillion cube. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Awesome! If you like French onion Soup then you will LOVE this recipe! I do mine a weee bit different, I buy the biggest vidillia onion & cut the "core" on top out. Squirt butter in the hole, a splash of worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt & pepper.. Wrap tightly in foil & grill 30-45 minutes. A MUST if you are camping on the grill! Enjoy, Also good with sprinkling some parmesan cheese on top. All kinds of things you can add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
We made these while camping and even a non onion lover loved them! I did like others said and added some sprinkled vegtable boullion to each onion and they ended up flavorful and yummy. I used very large, sweet onions and because they were so big we had to cook them somewhat longer but they were well worth the wait! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that will now be a part of our camping menus all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! I've made it while camping and at home in the oven. The recipe is great as-is, but even better if you add a beef boullion cube in the center along with a few drops of worcestershire. It tastes like french onion soup! Great served with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe is a whole lot better if you place a chicken or beef cube in the middle of the onion before you wrap in foil. Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States