Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
We are avid camping cooks and this did not taste right. We felt the inside tasted more like the banana pith. Sorry, but this one did not suit our taste somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I first learned this 50 years ago at Girl Scout camp. Yes, 50 years ago! Only difference was we used squares of Hershey bars. It made enough of an impression on me that I did it with my friends when we started camping 20 years ago. If at all possible, bring out a glass of cold milk to go with it. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This is a great recipe!!! I remember making a similar banana while camping as a girl scout. Only thing we did differently was to just peel back 1 section of the peel and then cutting a wedge out of the banana and then putting the marshmallows and chips in and then pulling the peel back over it before wrapping in foil!! I think that keeps the gooey in the banana better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terreesue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Rather than spraying foil, a sheet of Reynold's Non-Stick (Release) foil works nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These look absolutely disgusting when they are cooked but they taste absolutely fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This looks yummy! I'm going to have to make these! I'll give it a higher rating after I make them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
a lot of work and not as good as s'mores. VERY MESSY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fun recipe. The banana gets sweeter with cooking it. I had to return the banana to the fire a couple of times to get the marshmallows to melt so don't be afraid to put the banana in a hot spot of fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
We tried this --we added vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce to make it a full banana split. It was a nice change from smores. Will make again. Only suggestion--do not keep it in the coals too very long-so it won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
made as directed....ate with a guilty pleasure feeling. YUM....we actually made one with just marshmallows, one with marshmallows and chocolate, and one with marshmallows, chocolate and peanut butter....see what I mean about the guilty pleasure feeling...enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Banana Splits

Watch a firehouse cook (and guest) make banana splits for the crew.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States