Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Tasty and fun treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was pretty good. The first time we made them was a little frustrating because all the marshmallow ended up on the aluminum foil. The second time we just split the bananas lengthwise on some foil and laid the toppings on, then grilled the whole thing open, which seemed a little easier. Great idea- thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was great! I don't like bananas so I didn't make one for myself, but the rest of the family did and I tried it. I was surprised, it was so good! We used choco chips, mini marshmallows, and sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Yummy! I forgot the chocolate chips, so I broke up some cookies that had peanut butter and were fudge-covered. My hubby was very skeptical, but he ate the whole thing and finished my youngest son's as well! You can really play around with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYCEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
When I was a "Scout" we made these! We would peel the banana and cut a wedge in 4 places the length of the banana and fit a square of hershey's with a big marshmallow between the chocolate. These were placed in a foil pouch. It was such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
1 star for looks (rotten pickle appearence) but 5 stars for taste. I overloaded each bananna with marshmellows and chocolate chips, the smell was amazing when they were cooking. Great idea, lots of happy kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
When we make this at home (you can do it quite well over the grill) we top the bananas with crushed up graham crackers when they are done. And remember you don't have to use chocolate chips; caramel ones are nice, or preanut butter, or cinnamon, or even the swirled kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
These are so yummy! I used milk chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and marshmallows. Really STUFF the banana with these, I did not, and everyone told me I should have added more. But they were still delicious! Tastes just like a banana split. Leave them on the grill or fire until the marshmallows and chips are 90% melted (which was longer than 5 minutes for me). This was a hit at a large summer grill out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I love to cook over the campfire at our family place in the PA mountains and I'm always looking for a new idea. Tried this over the holiday weekend and it is a keeper! I used marshmellows, coconut, peanut butter chips and chocolate chips. This was so good and such a nice change. Can't wait to make these with my boy friend's kids. They will enjoy making these but will love eating them more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Tried this recipe while on our adults only Memorial Day camping trip. Excellent! I was leary because I'm not a big fan of marshmallows, but they taste just like banana splits. Even the guys loved them. I stuck to the recipe except we added Heath Bar chips that I had left over from my cookie baking stash at home. Took earlier advice and not only sliced the banana, but also cut it into chunks for easier eating. Will definitely make these for the little ones on our next family outing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Robertsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States