Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
The young adults in my church used to make these at bonfires, with a few changes: we spread in peanut butter, sprinkle with chocolate chips and coconut flakes, then drizzle with sweetened condensed milk. Seal the foil and set near the fire in coals for about 5 minutes until the bananas have softened. This is super gooey, and very sweet (at least to me) but they are a great treat once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
My hubby and I tried this for the first time a couple of weeks ago on a camping trip to Cherokee, NC. We both loved it! Tastes just like a banana split. We are going to add cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I had heard of these but had never tried them. My family & I went camping with friends last weekend. I made them with lots of ooo's & aaa's. So much flavor and melty goodness. My friend Karen said her husband loved it so much that he saved some on his shirt for the next morning. It was hard however to get the regular marshmellows in with chips, so I think next trip I will use the miniture ones. Thanks for the great new camping idea for dessert!!! E
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was so easy and fun to make with my Niece. We made a sundae bar and used Hershey milk Chocolate chips resees peanut butter chips and added some heath toffee chips to top it off...Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Sooooo good! Very easy to make and a nice change from the usual smores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraann6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Made these with my Girl Scouts when I was a leader years ago ... they were well loved, so I made them often when we were just grilling at home, especially with a crowd. Cool option is to set out little bowls of LOTS of filling options - have used not only chips and mini marshmallows, but also chopped nuts, coconut (toasted especially good!), chopped up snicker bars, smashed up graham crackers ... your imagination and your cupboard are great inspiration! If you think it'll be good in there ... it probably will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made these this weekend camping - everyone loved them!! This will be a regular camping treat for us from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love it! Try using mini marshmallows and mini chips. Also, adding crumbled graham crackers. Another trick to make them less messy is to scoop out a "trough" of banana to put the ingredients in and keep peel intact to lay back over then wrap in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I used to make these when I was a Girl Scout while camping. And I still make them every time I camp. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
A very easy fun recipe. The kids really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Banana Splits

Watch a firehouse cook (and guest) make banana splits for the crew.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States