Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
A unique idea. Our family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Oh my gosh, these are SO good! I was a little turned off by the idea of eating a hot banana, but we had hot coals after grilling some corn and it seemed a shame to waste them. I threw these together and my fiancee grilled them for about 10 minutes. All four of us loved them! I had to use marshmallow creme and nonpariels instead of mini marshmallows and chocolate chips, because that's what I had on hand. It worked well and I think I liked them better with the marshmallow creme than I would have with mini marshmallows (I'm not fond of the texture of marshmallows, but the creme is okay). Can't wait to make these as a treat for my nieces and nephews next time they come to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I was cooking food on a stick today, and looking for some new recipes, and was given this. This actually cooked directly on the fire but was protected by the foil. I did have heavy duty foil though. I liked the concept of cutting the banana into disks and leaving it in the peel and wrapping it. I even liked the taste of the warm banana. However, the marshmallow and chocolate made it WAY TOO SWEET! This was with just a sprinkle of chocolate and marshmallow, which was no where near the amount called for in the recipe. I am definitely going to try baking a banana over the fire again but experiment with sweeteners and flavorings. I am thinking of doing a banana foster inspired one next time just lightly sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good, but I didn't use enough chocolate chips. Just put in a few, but should have shoved more in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a nice change from s'mores, my kids loved them. I followed the recipe and when I took them off the campfire I added caramel sauce, crushed nuts and cherries, delicious! Takes a little more preperation then s'mores but worth it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peglaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Thanks for sharing this recipe it was very good. In the oven and camping!!! My whole family loved them . Thanks God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Somewhat healthy and super yummy dessert for the lake or the backyard. Kids and big kids all loved it :) Will do again most definetly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I remember making these with my GS troop too! I will DEFINITELY make these this summer over the grill! Thanks for the memory ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were so easy and fun. The kids loved them and it was something different from the usual smores. And healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made while camping- the kids loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Banana Splits

Watch a firehouse cook (and guest) make banana splits for the crew.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States