Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
A unique idea. Our family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Oh my gosh, these are SO good! I was a little turned off by the idea of eating a hot banana, but we had hot coals after grilling some corn and it seemed a shame to waste them. I threw these together and my fiancee grilled them for about 10 minutes. All four of us loved them! I had to use marshmallow creme and nonpariels instead of mini marshmallows and chocolate chips, because that's what I had on hand. It worked well and I think I liked them better with the marshmallow creme than I would have with mini marshmallows (I'm not fond of the texture of marshmallows, but the creme is okay). Can't wait to make these as a treat for my nieces and nephews next time they come to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I was cooking food on a stick today, and looking for some new recipes, and was given this. This actually cooked directly on the fire but was protected by the foil. I did have heavy duty foil though. I liked the concept of cutting the banana into disks and leaving it in the peel and wrapping it. I even liked the taste of the warm banana. However, the marshmallow and chocolate made it WAY TOO SWEET! This was with just a sprinkle of chocolate and marshmallow, which was no where near the amount called for in the recipe. I am definitely going to try baking a banana over the fire again but experiment with sweeteners and flavorings. I am thinking of doing a banana foster inspired one next time just lightly sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good, but I didn't use enough chocolate chips. Just put in a few, but should have shoved more in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a nice change from s'mores, my kids loved them. I followed the recipe and when I took them off the campfire I added caramel sauce, crushed nuts and cherries, delicious! Takes a little more preperation then s'mores but worth it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peglaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Thanks for sharing this recipe it was very good. In the oven and camping!!! My whole family loved them . Thanks God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Somewhat healthy and super yummy dessert for the lake or the backyard. Kids and big kids all loved it :) Will do again most definetly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I remember making these with my GS troop too! I will DEFINITELY make these this summer over the grill! Thanks for the memory ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were so easy and fun. The kids loved them and it was something different from the usual smores. And healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made while camping- the kids loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States