Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I love to cook over the campfire at our family place in the PA mountains and I'm always looking for a new idea. Tried this over the holiday weekend and it is a keeper! I used marshmellows, coconut, peanut butter chips and chocolate chips. This was so good and such a nice change. Can't wait to make these with my boy friend's kids. They will enjoy making these but will love eating them more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Tried this recipe while on our adults only Memorial Day camping trip. Excellent! I was leary because I'm not a big fan of marshmallows, but they taste just like banana splits. Even the guys loved them. I stuck to the recipe except we added Heath Bar chips that I had left over from my cookie baking stash at home. Took earlier advice and not only sliced the banana, but also cut it into chunks for easier eating. Will definitely make these for the little ones on our next family outing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Robertsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
We made these using the chocolate bars we brought for s'mores and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Excellent, I had my class make these and they were a huge hit. Many went home and made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe is so good!! Rather than placing on grill I place mine in the oven on 350 for just a couple of mintues or until the marshmallows are toasted/browned. 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
We have made this recipe for years around the campfire or even sometimes when we grill out. I always add some peanut butter and different types of chocolate chips. I enjoy experimenting with it. A good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Spectacular starter recipe! A throwback to my Girl Scout days these are totally back in. We have a fire pit and we don't have to wait to go camping to make. Use release foil and peel the bananas, use different toppings, m&m's, nuts (yes!), reese's pieces, etc. Have a can of whipped cream on hand plus a jar of cherries. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Delicious! But why leave the banana in the peel? Too much hassle. Next time I will wrap all bananas individually and without the peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Unspecified, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Mmmmmmm! We just got back from a camping trip and we have fallen in love with this recipe. It's delicious! My husband said that he wants to make this at home in the oven! The only thing I would do different next time is stuff the marshmallows in first because they were all over the aluminum foil and not in the banana. Thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Banana Splits

Watch a firehouse cook (and guest) make banana splits for the crew.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States