Campfire Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Great way to bake a potatoe. When I was a kid we would pac k them in mud and throw them in the coals and they would come out mashed inside the skins. But I like this way better because there is no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
When we're camping, we always assemble the potatoes with butter, sea salt & cracked pepper wrapped in heavy foil, and packed into a covered dutch oven. It takes a little while but it's easy to open the lid and pierce the potatoes to see how they're progressing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Winamac, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
We always make our potatoes this way-when we are camping, except I use vegetable oil and sea salt. We even have a small round grill we use mainly for the potatoes. We put them on a grate and cover. Just turn them once in a while and when you pick them up to turn, if they are soft- then they are done. We make enough to refridgerate a couple to slice for breakfast fries. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This is one of my favorite forms of potato. You need to put the potatos in the coals/embers on the side of the fire, not in the middle of the flames. You can also add seasoned salt to the butter, which turns out great. I like to cut open the potato and put the butter/salt inside instead of rubbing on the skin, but I'm sure that tastes good too. The cooking time depends on how hot the flames are. When the potatos are soft, they're ready. It's a campfire, so it's not an exact science.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I've done this type of potato many a time and they always came out great. Instead of butter, try using olive oil and then rub them with sea salt. Wrap in foil and place on top of coals after you've had the fire going for a bit. Don't put them IN the fire, they'll come out like rocks. Cooking time varies but just poke 'em with a fork and you'll find out if they're done. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wuzzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
They came out hard as bricks. We ended up burying our entire dinner, sadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My family also tried this method, and we made the 5 nicest charcoal briquets you ever saw. Needless to say, we had no potatoes with that meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
my potatoes turned out hard as rocks. You should not bury them in the coals and 60 minuates is too long. They cook much better on top of the coals and you have to watch them very close and turn them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States