Campfire Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
As others have said, if you put these into the fire - you will get charred raw taters.... I have done these both on the gas grill and charcoal...cook them indirect- off to the side of the heat source an turn them. The butter is great but needs more seasoning. Want to cheat.....microwave the taters and wrap in foil and grill. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the best thing ever if you can keep them hot enough to cook properly. We actually left ours buried from the lunch time fire until dinner. They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Mine came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Scanlon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I prefer to use shortening, but this is a wonderful recipe. I love to eat the charred potato skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
poke the potatoes abusively with a fork, smother them in GLOBS of butter, and wrap the outsides of the potatoes with raw strips of bacon. The bacon will pretty much dissapear, but the juices soak into the potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is the only way I cook baked potatoes... I also use this method when at home and cook them in the oven for 60 min at 350. Comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We also sometimes use olive oil to coat, then rub them with a salt-free Mrs. Dash blend. Heavenly, without the salt content. : ) Also, your cooking time depends on the size of your potato. Don't place them right next to the fire, but more toward the outside of your fire ring. Rotate your potatoes to ensure even roasting, and remember to test for doneness periodically to prevent overcooking. You can either prick with a camp fork, or squeeze with a fire-proof cooking glove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I didn't make this recipe. But you can get great results with a potato and foil. Save the butter for the end. Start your fire get it hot. Put the tatters in the fire on the out side. Rotate them every 10 min. Have a beverage, then rotate again. We use a thick leather glove. We like to call it our cooking glove. After about 30/40 min. squeeze it between your fingers, using the cooking glove. This is not rocket science. Use your hand and your sense of smell. You can get great results on an open fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
TO those who had trouble with this recipe. I always cook the potatoes partially before leaving on our trip and reheat them in the fire. Soft potatoes guaranteed and 1/2 the cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHJANE13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Great way to bake a potatoe. When I was a kid we would pac k them in mud and throw them in the coals and they would come out mashed inside the skins. But I like this way better because there is no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States