Campfire Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This is one of my favorite forms of potato. You need to put the potatos in the coals/embers on the side of the fire, not in the middle of the flames. You can also add seasoned salt to the butter, which turns out great. I like to cut open the potato and put the butter/salt inside instead of rubbing on the skin, but I'm sure that tastes good too. The cooking time depends on how hot the flames are. When the potatos are soft, they're ready. It's a campfire, so it's not an exact science.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
TO those who had trouble with this recipe. I always cook the potatoes partially before leaving on our trip and reheat them in the fire. Soft potatoes guaranteed and 1/2 the cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHJANE13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I've done this type of potato many a time and they always came out great. Instead of butter, try using olive oil and then rub them with sea salt. Wrap in foil and place on top of coals after you've had the fire going for a bit. Don't put them IN the fire, they'll come out like rocks. Cooking time varies but just poke 'em with a fork and you'll find out if they're done. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wuzzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
We always make our potatoes this way-when we are camping, except I use vegetable oil and sea salt. We even have a small round grill we use mainly for the potatoes. We put them on a grate and cover. Just turn them once in a while and when you pick them up to turn, if they are soft- then they are done. We make enough to refridgerate a couple to slice for breakfast fries. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is the only way I cook baked potatoes... I also use this method when at home and cook them in the oven for 60 min at 350. Comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the best thing ever if you can keep them hot enough to cook properly. We actually left ours buried from the lunch time fire until dinner. They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
poke the potatoes abusively with a fork, smother them in GLOBS of butter, and wrap the outsides of the potatoes with raw strips of bacon. The bacon will pretty much dissapear, but the juices soak into the potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I prefer to use shortening, but this is a wonderful recipe. I love to eat the charred potato skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Mine came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Scanlon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I didn't make this recipe. But you can get great results with a potato and foil. Save the butter for the end. Start your fire get it hot. Put the tatters in the fire on the out side. Rotate them every 10 min. Have a beverage, then rotate again. We use a thick leather glove. We like to call it our cooking glove. After about 30/40 min. squeeze it between your fingers, using the cooking glove. This is not rocket science. Use your hand and your sense of smell. You can get great results on an open fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States