Camper's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Very tasty and easy to make !! We did not have enough aluminum foil to make four packets, so we just put it all together into one Reynolds Hot Bag. Turned out great ! Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Easy to make, I will add a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Skip the mushrooms and add some green chilis. Forget the soup mix and throw in some garlic. We are talking about camping, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe. Don't change a thing. Made it according to the recipe, threw it all into a baking pan, covered it with foil and threw it on the barbecue, indirect heat, WOW! Fantastic! We will definitely try this one camping over the coals. Tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I tried a version of this while camping last weekend - try adding sliced chicken sausage and squash, and this makes a great one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made these on a camping trip just the potatoes and onions, i didn't have any mushrooms but i imagine that would be good. The soup mix makes it so good. I knew i would like it because i make potatoes like that in the oven at home- Throw them in a bag with olive oil and soup mix, leave the skins on and spread it on a pan in the oven. These are easy to pull outta the cooler and throw on the grill. Food is so much better camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Tried this recipe one weekend during a BBQ. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. So easy to put together and tastes GREAT! I have made it 3 times since and will continue making it whenever I have the chance. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
yummy! the only changes i made were to add garlic pepper and use a vidalia instead of a red onion. very good with the steak we had for dinner (and very easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I'm giving this recipe four stars because I felt a couple changes that I made were what really made this recipe incredible. I did the following: in the foil pocket, I put 4 medium potatoes (cut into 1" pieces), 1 large onion (diced), dotted with cold butter, added a liberal amount of ranch dressing, and topped it off by adding chopped garlic to the top (to taste). I wrapped it all up and grilled on medium heat for 50 min, turning once. These came out tender, flavorful, and buttery! I topped with sour cream and bacon bits and it was the perfect compliment to our steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFERS0118

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These was great reminds me of my childhood camping trips...I used all Ingredients but I add cheddar cheese on top..right about the time I'm about to take them off the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States