Campbell's® Swiss Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and always serve it as a side to Chicken Parisian Crepes that I make. I love the addition of the sour cream to make it richer. For those who do not like swiss cheese, I've made it with muenster, but swiss is my favorite. To make things cook more quickly (and avoid crunchy vegetables), I often pre-cook the veggies in the microwave with a little water to speed things up. This is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Loved this! Especially good with the Swiss cheese, my favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was really very good! I added 1/4 tsp garlic salt and garlic powder to mine. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this with a few alterations: subbed cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom (all I had on hand, but you could probably use any "cream of" soup), shredded cheddar instead of swiss (again, it was already in the fridge), tossed in about a quarter of an onion chopped since we were a little short on the French-fried onions (fiance likes to snack on these, so it wasn't a full can), and put in a little chicken sausage (chopped). Although I altered it a bit I feel it's fair to remove a star simply because the cooking time and temp didn't get the carrots cooked through. My fiance liked them crunchy, but I wasn't a fan. I think next time I will use just the broccoli/cauliflower mix. I almost added stock or water because it was super thick and paste-like prior to baking, but I'm glad I stuck it out. The veggies release plenty of moisture while cooking to make this a creamy, cheesy dish with just the right level of gooey. Didn't even need the garlic I almost added, either! Very good, just make sure you parboil or leave out the carrots unless you like them crunchy in your casserole... and adding sliced or diced sausage is a great way to make this a main dish. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I bought the Campbells caserole book years ago and have been making this recipe since. This is my daughters favorite dish. I add a little bit more cheese. I also turn it into an entire meal by adding chunks of chicken. My son is alergic to mushroom so I use cream of chicken but i'm sure any creamed soup wouldn't change the yummyness of this dish. I have made this at least once a month for the last 3 years and kids are still stalking the kitchen in anticipation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was a great, quick side dish. The swiss cheese really makes this unique. Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe was a big hit! I used 2/3 cup of sour cream and a lot more fried onions as well as cheese. But this was a huge hit and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Absolutely love this! I made the recipe as stated as a side dish for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a hit with everyone. For the next day or so I nibbled at the leftovers and even ate them cold. For some reason this dish really hit the spot with me. Thanks so much for a great idea. Much better than the standard green bean casserole!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I liked this as an alternative to the basic green bean casserole dish @ Thanksgiving. Easy, good flavors, simple ingredients. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am finding this recipe in the Low Sodium casserole recipes. Campbells soup is not LOW sodium. I also have concerns that the recipes I am finding have no values listed for sodium yet they are under the low sodium recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States