Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Campbell's - I have cooked many of your recipes before with varying rates of success and although this was good and savory - it still needs a liquid ingredient. An expert cook may know this but a novice may not. I started this recipe at 8am INCLUDING an added 1/2c beef broth (using 1/2c water and 1 tsp beef boullion) and turned my crockpot on low. Around noonish - I checked it and it was looking pretty dry. In my haste - I added (apprx) another cup of water - I literally filled a drinking cup with water and poured/stirred it in - so I'm guessing it was close to a cup measurement. It was still awesome and your house smells delicious. Other than the liquid addition (and going reduced sodium but not reduced fat soups) I didn't change a thing. A very easy "winter" dish to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yummy! This was very good and tender (and easy). I added beef broth, a large onion, some celery and garlic. My family ate this with gusto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I have been making this exact recipe for years, and so did my mom before me. It was a favorite of my brother and I growing up. Althought others have suggested adding some form of liquid to the meat there is no need to do so. As long as you cook on low your meat will come out perfectly tender 6 to 8 hours later. I have cooked smaller roasts for slightly less time, and much larger roasts for a few hours longer, adding an extra can of soup or the larger roasts. The only change we make is that we don't pour the mixture in then coat the meat with it. We do as follows: 1. Line baking dish with aluminum foil (make it lon enough to wrap around the meat) or one of those reynolds oven bags 2. place the meat in the baking dish 3. spread the cream of mushroom soup over the top of the meat and down the sides 4. sprinkle onion soup mix over top 5. add veggies around meat 6. wrap and tent the meat with the aluminum foil or close the oven bag 7. Cook at 275 for 6 to 8 hours ENJOY!!!! If done correctly the meat comes out so tender it melts in your mouth and it makes its own gravy. My brother and I called this stringy meat when we were little because it literally falls apart and almost looks stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years. Before bed I prepare it. Line a small roast pan with foli ( enough to cover everything) add your meat, potatoes, carrots along side of meat. Mix onion soup with cream of mushroom soup and pour over everything, In the morning before I go to work I pop it into a 275 degree oven and slow cook for 6-8 hour. When I get home from work, make a few rolls and your meal is ready. Perfect gravy, perfect meat & veggies. Simple and easy. Great to make a beef pot pie with any leftovers, just slice everything and add to pastry.Bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My kids LOVED this recipe! And believe me they are not easy to please. I added two cans of the mushroom soup because one did not even coat the meat. I also only cooked on low for 6 hours because it was cooked by then. If I had cooked the full 8 hours it would have been overcooked. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'M A FIRST TIMER AND SURPRISED MYSELF WHEN I MADE THIS IN MY NEW SLOW COOKER. MEAT CAME OUT FORK TENDER,ALSO ADDED AN YELLOW ONOIN FOR FLAVOR.WILL USE THIS RECIPE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Personally a bit salty for my taste, so I may consider adding 1/2 or 3/4 of the onion mix pouch next time. Otherwise it made a great tender pot roast - didn't even really need a knife because it was just breaking apart (that's a good thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
very good, but i added celery and some water to the recipe; turned out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Needs more seasoning - maybe a rub on the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
For those of you who read Cooks Magazine, it's a mistake to include the vegetables with the beef in a slow cooker recipe. They end up as mush after a 5-8 hour cycle. The solution is to toss the veggies in a little olive olive with herbs and fresh garlic. Put them in a foil package on top of the beef. This prevents them from becoming soft which would normally happen if they soaked in the juices from the beef. In other words, perfect roast and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States