Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is my favorite way to cook and eat pot roast. It does however need a standard can of beef broth added to the recipe to have enough liquid for the roast to sit in and cook to become fork tender and then it is 5 stars! The gravy this recipe makes is incredible ... rich and delicious. I like a thicker gravy and prefer to thicken mine with a little cornstarch before serving. I used a bottom round roast and like to cut with the grain so it shreds. Leftovers make an excellant open faced hot sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. I added some fresh thyme and chopped garlic and cooked it in a slow cooker bag. I followed the recipe and added only the can of soup, but if I make this again, I would add about 1/2 a can of water or beef stock just so there is some moisture to make the roast fall-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My family loved this! I did sear the roast before transferring to slow cooker. Also, added 1 can of beef broth to the recipe. Once roast was done, I used remaining liquid to make a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
GOOD STUFF! Made us all :) Used fingerling potatoes, mini carrots, added a large chopped yellow onion, beefy-onion soup mix, and a couple celery stalks at the very top of it all (removed celery after cooking)...very tasty and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Good base recipe. I have never tried cream of mushroom for a roast. You really cant tell its cream of mushroom soup. I marinated the roast overnight in red wine, the seasoning, garlic, and some herbes de provence. Browned it in very hot oil first thing in the morning. When I added everything to the crockpot I also added the marinade for added flavor. It ended up thinning out the gravy so next time I will coat the roast in flour after marinading but before browning. This was my first time browning a roast before putting it in the slow cooker. It makes a difference if you have the time! Cooked it on high 2 hrs then low 4 hrs. I am going to add the leftover meat to spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
perfect! My roast was frozen, but was perfectly cooked and delicious that evening! SOOO easyF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe was so easy, I did add some water to it, and it turned out great. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Perfect comfort food! Love that it makes its own delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmestelle83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goshen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is an old recipe and it works! Really good....I use about a quarter package of the onion soup mix since I find it too strong. It can be made with or without the vegetables........easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Easy, delicious and tender. I omitted the carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States