Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is such an easy recipe. It turned out great, the flavor was wonderful. Only change I would make is adding some beef borth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
WOW! Campbell's you did it again! Another GREAT recipe! My hubby hates mushrooms and onions and he said this was better than mine! LOL. The only thing different I did was sear the meat before I put it in. A++ Recipe! Thanks! (and NO, I didnt add extra liquid and stuff like other people had said to, you don't need it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Horribly dry meat when I was finished...and the potatoes were mushy. Not sure what I did differently, as I was encouraged by the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My complaints are in regards to the gravy. I was unsure about using cream of mushroom but went ahead and made the recipe as instructed the only change was I added some celery and a little water (water was unneccessary). It wasn't a beefy thick gravy, it was murky and I had to doctor it up with sugar, salt, and pepper to make it taste decent. There is actually a recipe on the Lipton Soup Mix that I'd try, basically this recipe sans the cream of mushroom. Chuck is always good so no complaints about the roast itself. In regards to the people who had to add liquid, I believe it's probably because you don't have a tight enough fitting lid, because the roast itself created A LOT of juices, no additional liquid required at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The left overs also make a great beef soup. Use the left over meat, add more veggies and use the leftover gravy in the soup. Very savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Didn't seem like enough liquid at first, but turned out ok. Roast was a little dry, perhaps due to the low level of liquid. If possible, re-baste the roast from time to time, or add additional liquid to keep everything moist (I'll try beef broth next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Doubled sauce per other viewers suggestions. I didnt half the potatoes, just threw the whole reds in and used a bag of baby carrots. Turned out AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
It was an okay recipe, but I could tell it was going to be a little bland so I added two beef bullion cubes, a dash of bbq sauce, and some steak house grinder and it was good. So if you follow the recipe its going to be a bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was a big hit with the family. Based on reviews that said it needed liquid I added 1/2 cup of veg stock. That was NOT needed. There was way too much juice in the bottom of the crock pot after. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was concerned about dish being too salty from the onion soup mix and/or 'uninteresting' due to cream of mushroom soup (ho-hum): It was neither. This dish is Very Tasty! I omitted potatoes, used regular cream of mushroom soup, and reduced sodium onion soup mix. Cooked 2.5 pounds chuck roast on low for 6.5 hours but it was fall apart tender 5 hours into cooking (in a 4.5 qt cooker). I added big baby carrots 4 hours into cooking, wedge cut onions 5 hours in, then sliced fresh mushrooms 30 minutes before serving. Veggies were perfecty cooked and not mushy. Thickened sauce w/cornstarch on the stove top. About an inch of the roast was exposed above soup mixture--probably because I omitted potatoes. However it didn't matter because I flipped the roast 4 hours into cooking. I did not add any liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States