Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years! Everyone loves it. I do change it a bit. I don't put carrots or potatoes in the crock-pot. I add 1/2 cup of white wine to the soup mix which gives it a little more liquid and a wonderful flavor. 1/2 hour before the roast is ready I add 8oz of sliced portobello mushrooms to the pot and when finished serve over egg noodles! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I also have been making this for years. The only change I have made is I prefer Campbells Golden Mushroom Soup. The Golden Mushroom soup gives it a much more beefy taste and the gravy it makes is absolutly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have been making this for years, and it is a Sunday dinner favorite with my family. I have cooked it on low for 8 hours and on high for 4 hours. I think the high on 4 hours works better. The meat tends to get overdone when cooked on the low setting. I also brown the roast first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is almost my Jewish Mother's recipe and by definition, Jewish mother's MUST make a great pot roast!. She uses Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup, a package of dry onion soup mix and 1 can of water. Then add whatever veggies/potatoes you have on hand. I usually use a rump roast. Sear the meat 1st on the cook top in a bit of oil and then bake it in a covered casserole for 3 hours at 325 degrees. It is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I could not get over how easy it is. It was a wonderful meal. I made it for a couple of get together dinners and everyone loved it. This is a must try meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tressa Wainright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very simple, but delicious! There were no left overs...my mom and brother just kept eating and eating. My finacee wants to have it sometime when we have his parents and brothers over too. Great flavor and all without heating up the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe is a great base! I've made it three times so far and it's gotten better every time. This is what I found out: It definitely does need at least a half a can of beef broth to cook in (a whole can works best). I followed another reviewer's advice and used McCormick's Montreal Steak mix on the meat first, and this gave it just the right kick (not spicy, but flavorful). I also followed another reviewer's advice and added small golden potatoes and celery. Another tip would be to buy the low salt version of everything, since the extra salt is not needed. My finicky husband and all my friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Just had this tonight! It was excellent! I added about a 1/4 cup water and a few onions. I also seasoned the meat a little. I only made a 1.5lb roast and coooked on low for about 6 hours. It was very tender and juicy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I added a cup of beef broth like some of the other reviewers suggested but it was just too much liquid. Everything turned out really good but I think next time I would add only a fraction of that liquid. Or add it slowly throughout the day. Overall very good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetiebeak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is such an easy recipe. It turned out great, the flavor was wonderful. Only change I would make is adding some beef borth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States