Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe is a great base! I've made it three times so far and it's gotten better every time. This is what I found out: It definitely does need at least a half a can of beef broth to cook in (a whole can works best). I followed another reviewer's advice and used McCormick's Montreal Steak mix on the meat first, and this gave it just the right kick (not spicy, but flavorful). I also followed another reviewer's advice and added small golden potatoes and celery. Another tip would be to buy the low salt version of everything, since the extra salt is not needed. My finicky husband and all my friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Just had this tonight! It was excellent! I added about a 1/4 cup water and a few onions. I also seasoned the meat a little. I only made a 1.5lb roast and coooked on low for about 6 hours. It was very tender and juicy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I added a cup of beef broth like some of the other reviewers suggested but it was just too much liquid. Everything turned out really good but I think next time I would add only a fraction of that liquid. Or add it slowly throughout the day. Overall very good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetiebeak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is such an easy recipe. It turned out great, the flavor was wonderful. Only change I would make is adding some beef borth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
WOW! Campbell's you did it again! Another GREAT recipe! My hubby hates mushrooms and onions and he said this was better than mine! LOL. The only thing different I did was sear the meat before I put it in. A++ Recipe! Thanks! (and NO, I didnt add extra liquid and stuff like other people had said to, you don't need it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~susakins~

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Horribly dry meat when I was finished...and the potatoes were mushy. Not sure what I did differently, as I was encouraged by the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My complaints are in regards to the gravy. I was unsure about using cream of mushroom but went ahead and made the recipe as instructed the only change was I added some celery and a little water (water was unneccessary). It wasn't a beefy thick gravy, it was murky and I had to doctor it up with sugar, salt, and pepper to make it taste decent. There is actually a recipe on the Lipton Soup Mix that I'd try, basically this recipe sans the cream of mushroom. Chuck is always good so no complaints about the roast itself. In regards to the people who had to add liquid, I believe it's probably because you don't have a tight enough fitting lid, because the roast itself created A LOT of juices, no additional liquid required at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The left overs also make a great beef soup. Use the left over meat, add more veggies and use the leftover gravy in the soup. Very savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Didn't seem like enough liquid at first, but turned out ok. Roast was a little dry, perhaps due to the low level of liquid. If possible, re-baste the roast from time to time, or add additional liquid to keep everything moist (I'll try beef broth next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Doubled sauce per other viewers suggestions. I didnt half the potatoes, just threw the whole reds in and used a bag of baby carrots. Turned out AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States