Campbell's® Slow Cooker Hearty Beef and Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I generally LIKE my chili a bit on the mild side, but this recipe was a bit too bland, even for me. It was edible, but it definitely needed crackers, fritos, cheese... something to give it a boost of flavor. And the flavor of cumin was so strong, even mixed in with all the other ingredients. I'm generally not a huge fan of that spice, so next time I make chili I'll cut the cumin in half or omit altogether. In order to "save" the rest of the batch, I added a small can of tomato sauce, a red pepper, some more garlic, and a little basil. That seemed to give it a kick. Now I'll more than likely eat the rest of it. Whereas before, I most likely would've thrown it out or let it go bad. I give it 3 stars because like I said, it was edible. I could've eaten it even without any crackers, but boy it would've been bland. And by the way - you're better off just using plain old tomato sauce, through and through. It's more flavorful than the soup. Campbell's just wants to put their name behind a chili recipe to get people to buy their soup, that's all. (haha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
alright, too many beans. '09
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This has got to be the best chili I have ever made. I like to put a big spoonful of sour cream in it also and it makes it that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did modify it by replacing one of the cans of kidney beans with black beans. We just like black beans better. I did also throw a little salsa in the crock pot as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I'm kinda new to cooking in general. Just bought a crock pot. And i was told to check out this site by my mom. She told me about this recipe and I decided to try it out. Great recipe!! I followed the directions and it came out great. Will definitely make this chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Not impressed with this chili. I have a better recipe that I will stick with from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Excellent chili! I prefer mine to be spicier so chances are I'll turn up the heat next time, but in terms of cost and resulting quality, it doesn't get much better than this (not to mention how easy it is to make with the crock pot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My husband luvs my neighbors chili. I have tried so many chili recipes without success. I FOUND IT FINALLY. This recipe is very basic, easy but great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this chili for the first time and it was great, very filling. I made one change to the recipe though, I used a can of Hunt's fire roasted diced tomatoes and the flavor really came through. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
OMG... Best chili I have EVER eaten! My fiance LOVED it! He would have perferred me to double the meat, since he is a Meat man! But Perfect! I just made us some last night, and now Im making some for my parents! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States