Campbell's® Slow Cooker Hearty Beef and Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
excellent base recipe! I made this today for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. I do not like to much spice, so I used 3 TBSP or chili powder, 1T basil, 1T oregano 1 bell pepper, 1 heaping T of brown sugar and left out the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beckybritton00
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Awesome! I added red pepper flakes 4 heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckybritton00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I was just not impressed with this recipe, but I can see how others would love it. I took the advice of all the reviewers and I still ended with the common problems that this dish has presented for others. It was very watery although I chose not to add 1/2 cup of water. It still struggled with flavor despite me adding taco seasoning, tbsp. of salsa, salt and pepper, brown sugar, paprika, red pepper flakes, and basil. It does help to reduce the amount of chili powder otherwise it would have been way too spicy for my family's liking. I don't think that I will try this recipe again, but if I did I would drop the cumin from the recipe. I would also drain the diced tomatoes. Even though I drained my beans I think the tomatoes added a lot of water that made the dish take a wrong turn. My chili was very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. Make it as requested the first time, try it. And then you will be able to determine what else u can use or subtitute to make your very own "famous chilli".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
PERFECT! I used taco seasonings to give it a kick! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is the same recipe that the Amish make except they add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jr_morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
added green pepper and only cooked for 1hour on high and 3hours on low YUM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have been making this recipe for awhile now but I cook it stovetop instead of in the crock pot--usually takes about 30 minutes from start to finish. After making endless chili recipes this one became my go-to recipe. We are not a household who likes terribly spicy chili, so this is perfect for us--and you can always add more spice if you prefer. On a side note: I have made with and without beans, less and more beef (ground turkey or chicken), with and without diced tomatoes. I've even made it with black beans when i wanted beans and didn't have others on hand, and I've added macaroni to make it a chili mac... It's been a good recipe regardless of what I've done to it. When I have all ingredients on hand, I make recipe as stated. It's a heartier chili, not a soupy chili. But...Campbell's tomato soup gives a better flavor to the chili than the generic brands do I have learned, so I wouldn't use a generic brand soup with this recipe. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great easy chili to throw in the crock pot! Instead of the water I used beef broth. I topped this with cheese and cilantro. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States