Campbell's® Slow Cooker Hearty Beef and Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is crazy good and so easy to make! Even hubby loves it! We eat it with Tortilla chips. Total A+ from me! A few things: I don't know why you need to brown the beef first. Maybe to drain the oil? I did make it one time without browning first (just chucked the raw in the crockpot because I was lazy) and you did see more oil on the top when it was done but once mixed you'd never know and it did add more flavor too. So I like it better this way. But it helps that I use extra lean beef I suppose as well. I do add a bit more tomatoes than the recipe says. I use one of the bigger cans (24oz?) rather than the 15oz can. I also use only 1lb of beef, mostly because the beef I like only comes in 1lb bricks and I hate having to open a full pack for just the 1/2 pound. Plus I like my chili more "beany" anyway ;) Other than those small things, I make everything else according to the recipe. Tip: the longer you let it sit/cook (i.e. on low for 8-9 hours instead of high for 4-5) the more flavor it has. Even eating 2 days later tasted better than the first day. Really yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great starter recipe. Very mild flavor though. Next time I will add peppers and other spices to give it a little more of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
We loved it! I thought it was a simple chili to make and it tasted just as good as the others I've labored over. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very easy and tasty. I made a few adjustments - omitted the soup, water and cumin. I added 2 cups of tomato sauce and the chili was hearty and very tasty. Served it with some cornbread and a salad for a nice winter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
yes,I added a jar of Salsa to sice it up, it sure made a difference. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Edible and easy, but also plain and bland I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've made this recipe half a dozen times and it comes out excellent every time. If it seems un-spicy or bland, just add a few drops of ghost pepper sauce. It's wicked hot so only maybe 10 drops to the whole crock pot. Also the most recent time I made it, it was a bit soupy so I threw in a handful of cornstarch and it thickened to a better consistency. Also it only feeds 3-4 hungry people, not 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Super cheap, quick, and easy to make. I sauté my meat, drain, and then place meat and all ingredients in a cast iron skillet, cover, and simmer for about an hour. Tastes wonderful! Receive many positive compliments on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
excellent base recipe! I made this today for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. I do not like to much spice, so I used 3 TBSP or chili powder, 1T basil, 1T oregano 1 bell pepper, 1 heaping T of brown sugar and left out the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beckybritton00
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Awesome! I added red pepper flakes 4 heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckybritton00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States