Campbell's® Slow Cooker Hearty Beef and Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
loved it. I made two portions and ate both in one go (probably because I waited so long for the meal! I doubles the chili as usual because most recipes are too bland, doubled the garlic as well. Not having any tomato soup i added ketchup made using a recipe found at allrecipes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This chili recipe is great, but i like my food to look good when i serve it, so i added sauted slices of red and green peppers, mushrooms and a small can of corn. the color added makes a great difference in apperance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is a great basic recipe. To "bump up" the flavor a good bit, I always brown the meat over high heat to develop a nice flavorful crust before stirring it. This adds the "roasted-beefy" flavor missing when ground beef is overstirred, cooling the pan down and ends up just "poaching" or steaming in its own juices as it changes color to grey instead of actually "browning". I also added a large chopped green pepper, a TBSP of paprika, a tsp each of salt and black pepper and 1/2 tsp of cayenne. I use chicken or beef stock instead of water and don't drain and rinse the kidney beans. There is lots of good flavor in there that shouldn't be just washed away. I think most of the "bland" comments are primarily due too little salt. A beef bullion cube could also perk up the dish in place of the tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
i made this my first time ever making chili and it turned out great. i did add a half pound more ground beef than it said to, and more chili powder, garlic and cumin than it said to. i also took another reviewer's suggestion and used hunt's fire roasted diced tomatoes. my husband loves this chili, and i am making it again for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mknight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great chili if you make a few small changes. Half of the chili powder is all you need. I leave out the water and add more diced or crushed tomatoes. I also like to add half of a jalapeno for flavor and 2 tbls white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
It came out with too much liquid, more like soup, so next time I will omit the water. Either that or drain the beans, there wasn't any mention to do that, but I'm thinking its necessary. I added a can of diced chilis and I think that added a bit of flavor that others found was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
A good quick recipe, not the best chili if you have more time and money you can find others that are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I used a spanish type chili powder and the chili came out too spicey. I added more meat and served it with shredded cheese and a dolip of sour cream. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
First time using my slow cooker. I used the ingredients it said but used my own amount to fill my 5qt slow cooker. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT AND VERY EASY RECIPE. JUST MAKE SURE YOU ADD SALT & PEPPER , AND I ADDED A SMALL AMT OF SHREDDED CHEDDAR TO THE INDIVIDUAL SERVING BOWLS. IT WAS SNOWING AND THE FIREPLACE WAS ROARING, AND MY EAGLES LOST.... ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE

Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States