Campbell's® Slow Cooker Hearty Beef and Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is really good. Used ground turkey, and I didn't have any chili powder so I used the red pepper that I had. Is 1/4 cup the right amount? I didn't use that much of the red pepper and it was plenty hot (I know red pepper is stronger than chili powder). It is a little soupy so next time I might use 2 tomato soup and no can tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've been using this recipe for years as my quick and easy basic chili recipe. The Campbell's tomato soup adds a nice sweetness to the chili. I've never cooked this chili in a slow cooker, but it comes out just as good after simmering on the stovetop for an hour or so. I also add 1 large chopped green pepper, black pepper, and salt to taste. I'm surprised salt and pepper weren't included in the ingredients because it definitely needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe! I am a picky eater and even more picky about chili but this is fantastic. I added more chili powder and I added black pepper b/c I like food a little more spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
well i halved this recipe to fit a 1 1/2 qt slow cooker. I cooked this on low for the time stated and it was burnt around the sides. It does need a lot more spices for my taste my bf thought it was good. It tasted a whole lot better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Definitely needed more flavour. The heat was there, and you can't go wrong with the base ingredients, but when the pot was opened, it was all fire and no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainHairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was totally excellent. I didn't find anything wrong with the mix of ingredients at all. What I did find was and I'm mad at myself for grabbing one can wrong from the store...why I didn't check the can 1st is beyond me, but when I got home I had one can of kidney beans and one can of pintos...I still added both because it's what I had...but regardless...it was still pretty good. I wouldn't change anything. The flavors were really good. Not over poweringly hot or mild. It was quite nice for my kids to eat. I'd totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Easy, cheap, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Found this recipe a bit bland on its own. With a few changes, it got rave reviews. Substitutions include: -Using a can of Campbell's Tomato Soup with Basil and Oregano, rather than the original. -When adding diced tomatoes, I used Aylmer's Accents Chili Stewed Tomatoes. -When adding Kidney Beans, I used Heinz Chili Style Kidney Beans. All of this together, plus the ingredients listed here, makes for an amazing chili. You really need the extra spices in the beans, tomatoes and soup - though you might also be able to add spices from your kitchen to help it along. With these additions, it's become a regular item in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
"Thanks for making man food, mom!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I halved the chili powder and it was still too hot! Will make again and reduce even more. I added red lentils, green capsicum, carrot, and corn for added benefits and fiber and froze most of this for an easy lunch. This soup freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Cloud Easter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States