Campbell's® Slow-Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was great! I added an extra can of soup mix and cup of water though, this way there is more room to cook the dumplings in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
The first time I made this was in the beginning of November and was already the first of a very cold winter in Minnesota. I made this a lot and It was a smashing success. My husband tore it up, his brother tore it up, the kids tore it up, and I managed to get a bowl too. I used 3 cans of cream of chicken, instead of 2. I never add water to anything, so I used a cup of chicken broth instead. I added onions, minced garlic, and sage. I didn't have any problems with the dumplings. They tend to look like they're going to form a cover, like one big solid biscuit. So after 5 minutes I used a butter knife and sliced thru them and continued to do that few times as they were cooking. Once the bottom and sides hardened they kept shape. I doubled the biscuit mix (hubby loves him some biscuits) and got 10 biscuits out of it. My house smelled so amazing all day. With the dumplings, I cooked them for 35 minutes. By then the Chicken stew was done so I turned it to "keep warm" and took my daughter to her Physical therapy appt and when I came back a little over and hour later, they were perfect! This became a staple over our -50 degree winter when we were all pretty cold, and this warmed us up so nicely. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I add a can of Cream of Celery too, everyone in my house loves a little extra 'gravy'. I do omit the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha888

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Recipe has potential... The dumplings were a challenge to get cooked through all the way and were fairly slimy and tasteless. As written; it was just too bland for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The chicken and veggie mixture itself was delicious. I added a few more herbs (rosemary and parsley) just to add a bit more flavor w/o any salt. I couldn't seem to get the dumplings the way I wanted. There may be too many variables with the premade baking mix. I definitely going to go for homemade next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I tried this last night. This is the first time I ever attempted to make chicken and dumplings. It turned out really good. I used leftover turkey instead of uncooked chicken breasts and added it the last hour of cooking. I used broth instead of water. I also added 2 tsp. jalapeno juice. I was really impressed with myself. When I make it again, I will probably add more broth and make less dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Delicious! The only change I had to make was cooking the dumplings longer. They actually took a little over and hour to cook. But the meal was easy and very flavorful. Good for a cold Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I really did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe only thing I did was instead of fresh Vegs. used frozen mixed and it was great also no thyme just some adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schnauzermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Townsend, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe as written, except I used torn pieces of canned biscuits for the dumplings because I was running short on time. The taste of the vegetables and 'sauce' was just okay, not enough to make me excited about making this again. I really believe a big part of the problem is the amount of thyme. It was overpowering. Maybe less thyme, and adding something else. I will be looking for other chicken and dumpling recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States