Campbell's Kitchen Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Server33
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Fantabulous! Extremely pleased w/how this meal turned out. With a little prep-work, this comes together very quickly & easily. I'm on a budget & have 4 kids (all boys). I try my best to use about $5 worth of meat per meal. I used 2 package portions of chicken breast tenders from Costco (total 6 package portions in a pack, $2.49 lb. I think. Probalby 1 lb. per package portion.) I used 1 can of Chicken stock (not condensed) + 1C water, 3 T Corn starch, Olive oil, 20 oz can Pineapple chunks, 2/3 C. Sugar, 3/4 C Vinegar, and chopped up all of the following: 1 green pepper, 1 sm onion, 4 green onions, handful of carrots, handful mushrooms. I did simmer the carrots in the stock, but now I don't think that was necessary. **And here's what perfected the recipe...I added two handsful of lightly salted cashew halves and stirred in some soy sauce (to taste) at the end of the simmering time. The cashews added just enough crunch and the soy sauce added the perfect saltiness to the tangy sweet sauce. I think I used about 2-3 T of soy sauce. What a keeper recipe. Next time I'll try the condensed stock (or add some stock granules to intensify the flavor). Don't skip the cashews..or maybe try lightly salted almonds. 3, 5, 15 and 16 yr olds & hubby ate it up. Served with seasoned fresh hot rice (made with plain water, but stir fried uncooked rice first in some olive oil & butter.) Will post picture. Oh, I also added some minced garlic to the stir-frying chicken in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I actually really enjoyed this and so did my husband who loves sweet and sour chicken. I didn't have any white vinegar so I substituted apple cider vinegar. I was afraid it was going to be too sweet but the flavors were nice. My husband can't eat green peppers so I substituted yellow bell peppers. I also threw in half of small onion, sliced and some sliced carrots(I enjoy lots of veges). I agree with another review in that it wasn't very eye appealing. I was looking for a way to add some color in so I threw in a Tbsp of black sesame seeds. That did it! It also adds a nice crunch. Next time I think I will try a red bell pepper for more color. The contrast between the peppers and the sweet pineapple was very nice. Overall, a great dish but it barely feeds 4 people. If you want seconds or leftovers, double the recipe except the rice. Going to add it to my weekly recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Wow, this was actually really great! I sauteed a couple cloves of garlic, a small onion, a handful of celery and a handful of carrots, then added chicken, cooked until brown, then added a large handful of fresh chopped pineapple and the sauce ingredients. My boyfriend is diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar, and I didn't have cornstarch, so I used flour instead. I then added about a cup of frozen mixed bell peppers, a little salt, and a handful of peanuts, and served over brown rice. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
We added lite soy sauce to it after it was finished cooking, as well as green onions and red pepper instead of green. I like red pepper with pineapple more than green and it adds more color! Adding these extras helped it get to a 5 stars for me. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This dish came out with great texture, and tasted good, but it was a little bland. We added some ginger and soy sauce, and then we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanguinesongbird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
For speed, taste, and simplicity I have to give this five stars. This may not be a gourmet nor terribly visually appealing recipe (mine did not look like pic as peppers loose their color and meat turns a bit milky looking), BUT - - - the flavors were wonderful. We served over rice and sprinkled crispy noodles on top - added a dash of Chinese hot sauce (we're spicy peoples lol). Seconds all around. Nice job and thank you. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was okay. It needs flavor, it's bland. It was easy to make though and smelled good. The sauce was good over rice, but it lacks spices and onions, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
So amazing! Use soy sauce on the rice and eat up! I never seen my husband eat so fast! I'd recommend a little more chicken than 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very simple and GREAT flavor -- a favorite at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a quick, easy, and delicious recipe; I'll definitely be making it again! Being a vegetarian I substituted cubed MorningStar chicken nuggets for the chicken breast and veggie bouillon in water in place of the chicken broth. I also cheated and used the "steam in the bag" microwave brown rice. The only changes I would make next time would be doubling the sauce and adding sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States