Campbell's Kitchen King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was great - just made it tonight with leftover turkey. My husband ate half of it all by himself! I made some changes; I baked the tortillas by spraying them with Pam and putting them on a cookie sheet at 400 degrees for a couple minutes, just to crisp them a bit. I added more spice - it was way too bland, even with hot salsa. I added 1 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand so I drained a can of chopped tomatoes and added that. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Overall receipe was ok. But found that you really need to put in at least 1 1/2 times the amount of chicken suggested (I will probably put double in next time). There are also too many tomatoes, you need at most 1 and chop them as small as possible otherwise you occasionally get a mouthful that is just 100% tomato and nothing else. Also, it tastes better if you put at least 3-4 cups of cheese on it. For the original proportions of this recipe you need a small casserole dish, but a family of 4+ will need more than this recipe provides for. Consider doubling (at least) the amounts provided (including the revised amounts suggested above) to make enough for everyone. With these modifications this recipe will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Yumminess! I made my salsa fresh instead of using the jar salsa and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Not bad. Definitely needs more spice though. I added chili powder, cumin, jalapenos and garlic powder and it was still a little bland. A few squirts of Cholula helped tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious and super-easy. In addition to the cheese on top, I put some over the first layer of ingredients before starting the second layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
this really didn't work out the way i thought. it came out really salty, with not enough of the other flavors. i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I made it exactly as the directions said. It was okay at best. However, a friend tried it and really liked it. I don't plan on making this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Z

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
If you like fresher tasting foods, sub out the Pace with fresh pico de gallo (I used store bought to save time). I also doubled the chicken and added strained, rinsed black beans. You could use any beans, but the Bush Grilling Black Fiesta beans are already flavored and have a nice spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States