Campbell's Kitchen Creamy Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My husband thought this dish was a hit. I made a few changes to the recipe. I omitted the green onions, because I did not have any at the time. I diced up 3 chicken breasts and sauteed them with 1/2 a yellow onion and a few cloves of garlic. I added about 1/2 a can of diced tomatoes to the mixture. I added more than 1 cup of the picante sauce mixture to the chicken and had plenty of it to roll up 12 tortillas. Along with the remaining sauce, I also drizzled El Paso Enchilada sauce all over the enchiladas as well. I baked in the oven for 30 minutes, topped with the remaining tomatoes and drizzled a Mexican 4-cheese blend all over the top. I added some additional sharp Cheddar cheese over the top and baked for the remaining 10 minutes. This was a real score with my husband, only next time he asked that I use more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have tried many enchilada recipes, and this is my LEAST favorite. The mixture of soup, sour cream, and salsa is overpowering and left me feeling quite sick after eating this. Not to mention that the dish just doesn't LOOK appetizing on the plate. It's all one big orange messy heap. If you decide to try this, one tip. Go ahead and put the salsa mixture inside the tortillas, but leave it OFF the top. The only thing I think could have improved this recipe is to stick with plain cheese, tomatoes, and onions on the top, maybe some lettuce and beans. But not the filling inside AND on top-- it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Super easy and versatile!!! One thing I add here that the recipe doesn't have is milk. Once I dump the canned soup in a bowl, I fill the can up with milk and pour it in. I find it too rich and salty if I don't use the milk. Sometimes I use the Campbell's Cheddar Jack Condensed Soup to spice things up. I also add diced green chiles or Rotel mild mix (for the kids). I also add canned black or pinto beans and rinse them off before I mix it with the chicken. I also marinade the chicken before I cook it with McCormick's Zesty Herb 30 minute marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
We actually really liked this, and I was surprised, to be quite honest. My husband even, who is quite critical, thought it was good even (usually I get an "its all right" if prompted. for this, he volunteered that it was good, without my asking!). I followed the recipe pretty close, only putting lots of extra cheese on top. I had gotten some chicken breast halves on sale, and wanted to use them. So I simply boiled with salt until barely done. Then pulled the meat off the bone, and shredded it. I expected the mixture to melt down more (to be more sauce like), which it didn't. But that was okay. I had filling left and topping left over, so I would suggest either using larger tortillas, or making a couple more than recipe states (I made seven in this size shell, and could have made probably two more, even though I used a lot of filling in each one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Fantastically yummy, really satisfied the mexican food craving; Only used 1/2 cup of sour cream, which was more than enough. Baked chicken breasts for 20 minutes at 400 then used fork to shred the chicken for the recipe, used 6 inch old el paso tortillas (more pliable than the Mission ones), heated some of the extra picante sauce and served over top the finished dish to cut some of the creaminess of the dish, served with chopped lettuce, refried beans, and made the Mexican I rice dish from the recipes here. Ahh, full happy belly. Oh, used home-grated Heluva good Colby-Jack cheese. The pre-shredded cheeses just don't melt as well, get kinda plastic-y when cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
YUMMM! We love these! I usually don't make any changes to the recipe, but sometimes I do add some black olives and some jalepenos. It just depends on what I have on hand. I make these at least once a month. ***Once I substituted ground beef for the chicken, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of cr of chicken, but it was not very good.*** Stick with chicken for the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Absolutely DELISH!!! I've made this a number of times already, and it's a hit every time. I added half a cup of rinsed and drained black beans to the chicken mixture, and I sprinkle shredded cheese and fresh cilantro on top before serving. The cilantro-black bean taste combo adds to the Mexican flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I didn't have any cream of chicken on hand so I mixed sour cream and cream cheese instead. I also poured a can of enchilada sauce on top before going in the oven. Also I added jalepenos and sour cream just before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
The recipe is really good and so easy to make. A definite hubster pleaser. I've made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe almost exactly. The second time I cooked this, I made some adjustments. I replaced some of the chicken with mushrooms and added half a diced red bell pepper. I also didn't put any cheese inside the enchiladas. I only sprinkled some grated cheese on top before baking. With this I managed to cut out a great amount of fat from the recipe. The taste was still great and we didn't feel overly full from eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Pixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very good and easy!! I used pepper jack cheese to pep it up a little bit - 1c. inside and 1c. over the top. This is also excellent with prepared spanish rice added to the filling - a great way to stretch the recipe, or you can make them burrito size! Make sure to double the amount of the picante sauce mixture so it doesn't get too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States