Campbell's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I thought I was being smart by putting some brown rice in so it would take longer to cook. It made absolutely NO difference. Made as the recipe states, this is a mushy mess. Don't even attempt it unless you cook the rice separately and add it at the very end. I am SO disappointed that I didn't realize this first -- I could swear that I've made this mistake before. NEVER AGAIN. note: to be totally fair, my family really liked the TASTE of this recipe. My 2 year old ate 3 helpings, plus leftovers the next day. BUT I would NEVER remake this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
5stars on taste 3stars on the prep procedure. Another reviewer was right; definitely cook the rice separately or add it later on. Cause the rice comes out mushy if you follow the directions. It tastes great though;the only improvisation I performed was some "BAM!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was a fairly good recipe. It was easy to make and tasted great. It needs a little bit more spice for me so I added some Tabasco to it and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great recipe-- I ended up adding a few dashes of hot sauce and cooking the rice separately, and it turned out wonderfully. The recipe might have also been better with only one can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I made this last night and it tastes awesome. The only thing I did differently was cook the rice seperately. But otherthan that It was a really easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I doctored this recipe based on the reviews. I added a can of Rotel tomatoes in additional to the regular can of tomatoes - that gave it much more spice. I also cooked the rice separately in a rice cooker which keeps the rice warm for hours until ready to use & added it in before serving. If cooking rice separately I'd reduce the chicken stock. I also used boneless chicken breasts & cooked on low for 5 hours. I will make this again, but will reduce the stock since I added a can of tomatoes and I will add a capful of liquid smoke to give it more of a roux flavor. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The taste was very good, but it got extremely mushy! I left it in for about7 hrs on low, but I probably should have stopped it at 4 hrs because I think it must've been ready then. After 7 the rice had almost disintegrated! It was more like a rice-tomato paste thing than actually seeming like rice. But like I said, the flavor was good. I would make it again, knowing to cook it a lot less long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe was very good, but definitely COOK THE RICE SEPARATELY. I didn't read that advice until it was too late, and the rice was mushy. Too mushy, but the flavor was great. I didn't add shrimp, and I only had Montreal Steak Seasoning, so that's what I used. I will make again, but won't add the rice at the same time. We had biscuits, and corn on the cob, and banana splits for dessert. I made this with things I had on-hand, so it was cheap to make, and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I thought it had good taste (we did season it more with garlic, salt, pepper) but I would definitely wait and add the rice later next time- it came out a little mushy. But it did taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I have made this dish twice and we love it! It's simple, healthy and very good. We prefer it without any shrimp. I have made it once in the crock pot and once in the oven and baked it at 350 for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States