Campbell's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe was very good, but definitely COOK THE RICE SEPARATELY. I didn't read that advice until it was too late, and the rice was mushy. Too mushy, but the flavor was great. I didn't add shrimp, and I only had Montreal Steak Seasoning, so that's what I used. I will make again, but won't add the rice at the same time. We had biscuits, and corn on the cob, and banana splits for dessert. I made this with things I had on-hand, so it was cheap to make, and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I thought I was being smart by putting some brown rice in so it would take longer to cook. It made absolutely NO difference. Made as the recipe states, this is a mushy mess. Don't even attempt it unless you cook the rice separately and add it at the very end. I am SO disappointed that I didn't realize this first -- I could swear that I've made this mistake before. NEVER AGAIN. note: to be totally fair, my family really liked the TASTE of this recipe. My 2 year old ate 3 helpings, plus leftovers the next day. BUT I would NEVER remake this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
My family liked this recipe, I did as other recommended and cooked the rice separately. I also added a few dashes of hot sauce to make it a bit spicy at the end of cooking. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great recipe-- I ended up adding a few dashes of hot sauce and cooking the rice separately, and it turned out wonderfully. The recipe might have also been better with only one can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
followed recipe and was very good. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
5stars on taste 3stars on the prep procedure. Another reviewer was right; definitely cook the rice separately or add it later on. Cause the rice comes out mushy if you follow the directions. It tastes great though;the only improvisation I performed was some "BAM!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
My son who refuses to eat vegetables, had four helpings. Everyone else had 2nds and 3rds. The only thing I changed was that I cooked the rice and put it in later, and I cooked the chicken thighs on the bone. This recipe was the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Smithville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I made this last night and it tastes awesome. The only thing I did differently was cook the rice seperately. But otherthan that It was a really easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I thought it had good taste (we did season it more with garlic, salt, pepper) but I would definitely wait and add the rice later next time- it came out a little mushy. But it did taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made it without shrimp but it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States