Campbell's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Used 2c water and bouillon instead of broth. Didn't have Creole seasoning so I used Emeril's Original Essence and a few splashes of hot sauce and frozen shrimp, thawed. Also cooked rice separately and threw it in with the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I doctored this recipe based on the reviews. I added a can of Rotel tomatoes in additional to the regular can of tomatoes - that gave it much more spice. I also cooked the rice separately in a rice cooker which keeps the rice warm for hours until ready to use & added it in before serving. If cooking rice separately I'd reduce the chicken stock. I also used boneless chicken breasts & cooked on low for 5 hours. I will make this again, but will reduce the stock since I added a can of tomatoes and I will add a capful of liquid smoke to give it more of a roux flavor. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Well...I really wanted to like this but the problem has to be the cooking time. The TASTE is great but the consistency is mush. The recipe "as is" definitely needs adjusted..and even with that (I did reduce the cooking time), it still came out with the mushy rice. I'm not sure if I"ll try this one againl I'm still looking for the "one" jambalaya recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The recipe was great. I used Cajun seasoning and added the rice at the end and it turned out great. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this recipe three times. I loved it each time. What I did differant: I added twice as much an extra can of tomatoes, because my housemate and I love the red stuff; shrimp I left out, and I added 50% more sausage and chicken. I added an extra stalk celery and added twice the green peppers. Cooking it for 8 hours makes everything mushy. Cooking it for 7 makes only vegetables firm. Rice still comes mushy. However, the taste is awesome and I love recipes where I don't have to stick around to watch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The taste was very good, but it got extremely mushy! I left it in for about7 hrs on low, but I probably should have stopped it at 4 hrs because I think it must've been ready then. After 7 the rice had almost disintegrated! It was more like a rice-tomato paste thing than actually seeming like rice. But like I said, the flavor was good. I would make it again, knowing to cook it a lot less long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good flavour and easy to prepare, but turned out REALLY mushy. Not how you would expect jambalaya to be. Was like glop, not rice. Wouldn't make it again. I think this is just something that shouldn't be made in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
It was just okay. Jambalaya is probably better made on the stove top. The crockpot variety resulted in a watery mush of meat and vegetables that none of us particularly cared for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Very good and simple. DO NOT COOK THE RICE IN THE SlOW COOKER. Cook it separately. It will keep your jambalaya from becoming mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This rating is really more like a 4.5. It was good enough to make again but not spectacular. Good flavor - the guys all went back for seconds. I omitted the shrimp because I didn't have any on hand. I did also cook the rice separately and added it at the end. I can see where it would have been mushy otherwise. Served with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States