Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
We love green bean casserole, but find this recipe just seems to use too much milk. The sauce seems overly thin. I use somewhere between 1/3 to 1/2 cup of milk and it is just perfect; thick and creamy. I omit the soy sauce as I think this recipe is great without it and to cut down on the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
927 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
It's OK. I've been doing green bean casserole for years. I love the stuff. I can fill up a plate of this and sit down to eat. I've always made my own style of it, but this year for christmas I thought I'd do this since it's so publisized. None of us liked it. I don't know exactly why, maybe it was the soy sauce or that it is watered down so much with milk. I make mine with a heavier soup and no soy sauce and real thinly sliced onions in it while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is so good!!! I use fresh green beans in the casserole and it makes all the difference in the world in flavor. I steam the beans first, then mix them with the other ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Substitute half and half for the milk and omit the soy sauce and you have the way we make it. We were out of both once, but had promised the casserole, so went with the substitute and have made it that way ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Not bad at all, I guess, for my first time trying this kind of casserole. My only complaint is that it didn't taste so good when it was reheated (and as I'm eating for one, I had plenty of time to test that theory).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I personally don't eat it because I don't like string beans but I make it with french cut and regular cut beans. I mix 1 can of each and get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Andover, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
And old family favorite. Who ever could give this less than five stars just for nostalgia value! When I couldn't get the Campbell's soup and the French cut green beans in Europe, I substituted a packaged Cream of Mushroom soup, added sour cream and milk. One year I tried to slice frozen green beans down in to French sliced -- too time consuming and absolutely frustrating! Just used regular frozen green beans and the taste was also fabulous. Made thin-sliced homemade onion rings as well. In the end, a lot more time consuming than this easy original. I realized how very much I appreciated the ease of this great side dish for holiday meals when everything else in the kitchen is topsy-turvy from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very easy and very good. I used fresh green beans and cut off the ends. That made it taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a good base recipe. Sometimes it's nice just to have a few ingredients, and this was a nice addition to the more complex dishes I served during Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Tried and True for 4 generations!!! I tried skipping this dish last Thanksgiving and I never heard the end of it. Best to make just the way the recipe says before trying to tweak it....you will more than likely enjoy it more just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States