Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
And old family favorite. Who ever could give this less than five stars just for nostalgia value! When I couldn't get the Campbell's soup and the French cut green beans in Europe, I substituted a packaged Cream of Mushroom soup, added sour cream and milk. One year I tried to slice frozen green beans down in to French sliced -- too time consuming and absolutely frustrating! Just used regular frozen green beans and the taste was also fabulous. Made thin-sliced homemade onion rings as well. In the end, a lot more time consuming than this easy original. I realized how very much I appreciated the ease of this great side dish for holiday meals when everything else in the kitchen is topsy-turvy from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a good base recipe. Sometimes it's nice just to have a few ingredients, and this was a nice addition to the more complex dishes I served during Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very easy and very good. I used fresh green beans and cut off the ends. That made it taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Wonderful! My whole family loved it, even my husband who doesn't usually like green bean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
great basic recipe. especially delcious with fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very Good, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is so good!!! I use fresh green beans in the casserole and it makes all the difference in the world in flavor. I steam the beans first, then mix them with the other ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
It's OK. I've been doing green bean casserole for years. I love the stuff. I can fill up a plate of this and sit down to eat. I've always made my own style of it, but this year for christmas I thought I'd do this since it's so publisized. None of us liked it. I don't know exactly why, maybe it was the soy sauce or that it is watered down so much with milk. I make mine with a heavier soup and no soy sauce and real thinly sliced onions in it while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
424 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
We love green bean casserole, but find this recipe just seems to use too much milk. The sauce seems overly thin. I use somewhere between 1/3 to 1/2 cup of milk and it is just perfect; thick and creamy. I omit the soy sauce as I think this recipe is great without it and to cut down on the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
936 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I gave this 3 stars for nostalgia, but there are many better green bean casserole recipes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States