Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at our house, only I use skim milk instead of the water and whole grain instant brown rice. I also cut up the chicken into cubes and brown slightly before adding to the baking dish. The mexican blend shredded cheese works great even if you don't like the chili powder in it. One other helpful hint is to mix the soup and milk together and add the rice, then pour over chicken in casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Great, easy recipe. I use chicken broth instead of water for added flavor. Plus, I don't usually keep onion powder on hand, so I use a seasoning blend like Emeril's or Montreal seasoning. Whatever I'm in the mood for. My family loves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this using Cream of Chicken with Herbs so it took care of seasoning the chicken (which I think is a critical part of this recipe that many overlook based on comments). I used chicken broth instead of water and I cut the chicken into large chunks and mixed it into the soup mixture rather than laying whole breasts out on top. I did not add salt and don’t think anyone needs to given the amount of salt in the condensed soup. I greased the bottom of the pan a bit with some butter then threw in the fresh green beans and mushrooms (my choice for this dish). Then I poured the soup mixture in. Prior to cooking, I topped it with a sprinkling of garlic powder, a little bit of shredded cheddar, parmesan and bacon bits. Cooked for the 45 min. and everything was nicely cooked. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My husband actually made this, and he does not like to cook. It turned out GREAT. We added fresh broccoli and canned corn for the veggies. Instead of the cream of chicken soup, we put in broccoli cheese soup. He also added two cubes of chicken boullion to the water. It was sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Indiana, USA
Living In: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was easy, but the rice was not done in 45 minutes - I had to put it back in for another 20 minutes. I'd advise cooking for an hour covered. I added extra seasoning - onion & garlic powders, pepper, paprika - and it was still a bit bland. Also, not so great reheated for leftovers - rice and chicken dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a very tasty dish that takes only a few minutes to throw together and pop in the oven. It's perfect when you come home from a long day and don't feel like slaving away in the kitchen, but still want a homemade meal. I was all out of onion powder, so I substituted garlic powder instead which added a nice flavor. I also used long-grain brown rice instead of white to make it even healthier. I'll definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
We all liked this. I made the "italian" version because some reviews said the original recipe lacked flavour. I used homemade chicken stock in place of the water and the local grocery store was out of plain cream of chicken soup so we used cream of chicken and white wine. We did not find it bland at all. Will make this again but will part boil the rice first. This time the rice didn't cook fully, even after an hour of cooking and me adding extra liquid during cooking. Also I will cube the chicken breast and mix it in with the rice & soup to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Ok, so it's not gourmet and I resorted to this because I was simply NOT going to stand over a hot stove tonight. But it's full of veggies and lean protein, clean up is minimal, and all I had to do was pull it out of the oven and plop it on the table. This will not go down in the hall of fame for great meals I've prepared but it did its duty. I used chicken broth instead of water, threw in a big dollop of sour cream, and topped with bread crumbs instead of cheese. So the family was not pouring on the compliments but I have to admit that our table has probably not seen the last of this easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Based on the reviews of this recipe I thought it would be very good, however it was pretty bland! I had to MAKE my boyfriend take the leftovers to work the next day, which is unusual for him! haha. Maybe it needs more cream of chicken soup? It needs SOMETHING! It WAS easy though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was a tasty casserole for a weeknight supper when there isn't a lot of time for fussy cooking.I browned the chicken breasts slightly before adding to the casserole and spiced them with roasted red pepper and garlic. I also added seasoned salt, a little garlic powder and some tarragon to the soup mixture. I used fresh broccoli florets for the vegetable. My 4 year old grandson is VERY difficult to feed and he ate it, so that is good for a star or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States