Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this last night but changed it up like some of the reviews said to do. I seasoned and browned the chicken first. I cooked the veges and brown rice as well. Then threw it together into the baking dish using chicken broth instead of water. I also added a can of cream of celery for more flavor. For the veges I used broccoli,peas and cauliflower. I used onion and garlic powder as well for a seasoning. Even with all this the recipe was still bland. It was like eating plain oatmeal. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was an easy meal to throw together with what I already had in my kitchen. I added some minced garlic and Frank's hot sauce since I knew my husband and I would need a little more flavor and "kick". I did have to cook it an extra 15 minutes - the rice was still uncooked at 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I give this 5 stars based on a few changes. First, I deboned 4 chicken thighs, cut up the meat, and mixed it into the rice/soup mixture. Second, instead of white rice I used a blend of brown and whole grain rice, which I think added a lot of flavor that white rice would not. Finally, I do not like frozen vegetables or onion powder, so I instead chopped half a yellow onion, 1 bell pepper, and 2 stalks of celery. It took way longer than 45 minutes to cook, possibly because of the rice I used. I cooked it covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 45 and it was perfect. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is 5 stars with the changes I made. Many of the previous reviews said that long grain rice was not completely cooked at the end of cooking time, so I boiled the rice on the stove for 1/2 of the recommended cooking time on the rice bag. I added the rice and the cooking water to the casserole. I did not add additional water to the mixture. I also cut up my chicken and mixed it into the rice mixture and added 2 tbsp ranch dressing and a handful of cheese to the mixture. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuckerlucydog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
kinda bland. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I make this at least once a month. Once it's done I shred the chicken and mix it in and then melt more cheese on top. My kids love it. Easy way to get them to eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
my sister showed me this recipe and i love it. it is fantastic and tasty... easy and dosnt take long to bake... also by far the most prettiest dish lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is an excellent easy recipe! It's one of the only ways I can get my picky hubby to eat his veggies! I love that I can use any kind of veggies I have on hand. The only reason this gets 4 stars is that after making this recipe many times I've found it's important to use instant rice! It comes out perfectly cooked when using the instant rice, but I always end up with hard/undercooked rice when I use regular. This is one of those recipes I keep coming back to when I don't know what to make for dinner since I usually have everything on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
An ideal "home cooked meal" recipe, added some seasoning to the soup mixture for some extra flavor and replaced water with 1% milk for a creamier taste. My husband loved it and when he took the leftovers to work for lunch he said all the guys gravitated towards the microwave when he was heating it up. A couple have asked for the recipe for their wives to make. Definitely a guy pleasing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Just finished making this for dinner tonight, although I tweaked the original recipe a bit. Like others suggested I used chicken stock instead of the water and was lazy and used half of a rotisserie chicken I had in the fridge. I just shredded the chicken finely and mixed it all with the rice and veggies. I also added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1/3 tsp of salt for taste. I also added the 1/2 cup of shredded Cheddar and mixed it in with the rice and then topped it off with some more cheese. It was wonderful. Not bland at all and a dish I will definitely make again on busy weekday nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States