Campbell's Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was good and easy, but I didn't think it was any exceptional. I also sprinkled some sugar over the top to give the outside a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Was good and pretty easy to make. The ends of the pastry didn't cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is the same recipe I have been using for years. Simple and easy. I slice my apples paper thin, and let them soak in a bit of lemon juice (to keep the color), 1 TB cinnamon, and about 2/3 cup of sugar for at least an hour, or overnight. This really enhanced the juiciness of the apples...it is a trick my Nana taught me when making apple pie. I toss the apples in about 2 TB flour, and I use 3 apples instead of 2 because I like a full strudel. Make a glaze with 2 TB butter, 1 cup powdered sugar, and about 2 TB or more as needed. Serve warm with ice cream! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This strudel right here is a real winner. It is as authentic as anything you could buy at a reputable bakery. I was proud to take this to a gathering I attended. It is very impressive and SO delicious. I changed NOTHING in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very tasty and easy! Substituted Craisins for raisins, and it was too tart with granny smiths. Stick with raisins, or use a different apple I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very easy! I doubled the sugar and cinnamon, and after cooled for 30 minutes, topped with a cinnamon/powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have no complaints about this recipe. I followed the recipe as written and found it to be simple to prepare and really delicious. I served it warm, with vanilla ice cream. My partner said he thought it was better than strudel that he ate in Germany. I can't speak to the authenticity of the recipe, but I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for an easy apple dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I used this recipe and won 3rd place in the strudel contest at our local Oktoberfest. It definitely is not authentic-but it tastes decent. I rolled the puff pastry as thin as I could get it. Authentic strudel does not "poof" it's dough is more like a tender filo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy and most of my family enjoyed it. Follwed the recipe with the exception of omitting the raisins and using parchment paper instead of greasing the pan. I will definately use a little more sugar next time, double the cinnamon and include the raisins or use dried cranberries. Also, my oven temperature is accurate but at 35 minutes, although a perfect golden brown exterior, the middle of the dough was just a little under-baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Excellent! I wanted individual servings, so I cut one pastry sheet into three strips, then filled & rolled up. They came out perfect! I topped with a confectioner's sugar and milk glaze - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States