Campbell's® 15-Minute Chicken and Rice Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The base and concept is solid. I made the following changes and it was pretty darn good. - Rinse chicken and then season generously with onion salt, garlic salt, pepper, and paprika. I didn't do extra salt because of the garlic salt. I stab the chicken with a fork several times. - Brown chicken in very hot vegetable oil (I use my counter top skillet at 325-350) about 7 minutes per side. - Remove chicken and continue as recipe reads. - Only use 1 cup of instant white rice - Added chicken bullion cube - Sprinkle additional pepper and paprika to rice/soup/water mixture and then add chicken back to pan. - Added one homemade canned beans (instead of broccoli) Cooked another 15 minutes or so as my chicken was pretty thick. Came out moist and flavorful! All in all, about 40 minutes including prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I too added onion powder, paprika, garlic powder and pepper before browning the chicken and later when placing the chicken back in. Also replaced water with chicken broth and only used 1.5 cups ofinstant rice. Butterfly the chicken or you will end up having to cook a lot longer. Even with the butter flying I had to cook covered for an additional 10 minutes. Next time I would replace the broccoli with peas (just a personal choice) and add salt, less paprika. My family lived this quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennmarie25

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This dish was exceptionally bland. If I decide to make it again, I will definitely use some of the tips above. I cut the chicken into bite-size pieces and tried seasoning the chicken and the rice, but it still was very bland. If you want softer broccoli, I advise you steam it first. The broccoli was hard and crunchy, which wasn't bad, just not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
So boring. Next time, I am going to make 1.5 cups of rice, add milk to the sauce, and keep the rice, meat, and sauce separate until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good. I added some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The base of this meal is actually very good if you take a few extra moments to spice it up a little. I read all of the reviews and decided to do just that. I cubed the chicken (to cut down on the cook time and to spread a little chicken much further). Once I placed the chicken in the pan with the oil, I then used Coriander, Basil, Garlic Salt, Paprika, and a dash or two of Pepper. (although I still added some paprika and pepper when I added the additional ingredients) Also, I didn't have instant rice, so when I added liquid I didn't use water, I used milk. I wanted to maintain a creamy consistency without the watered down flavor. Don't use the full 1 1/2 cups if you're not using instant rice as you don't have it to soak it all in. You'll have WAY too much liquid. Add milk until you reach the desired consistency. I also agree with not using the broccoli florets. I did, and they were WAY too big. I don't like needing to cut food in a one bowl meal like this... Cooking time is completely inaccurate if you're not cubing your chicken. Delicious! I plan on making it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
easy midweek quickie meal... celery salt (celery goes really well with chicken), onion powder, garlic powder, paprika. no broccoli so had to settle for peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
The original Campbell's recipe calls for onion salt in addition to black pepper, which may be why some folks are saying this is bland. It also only calls for ONE cup of rice, not two, which is definitely the reason folks are complaining about having to add additional water. I make this recipe per the Campbell's website and it comes out tasty every time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
farely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I seasoned the chicken with onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper and paprika on both sides bfore browning. I also used chicken broth to cook the rice in place of water, and threw in a chicken boullion packet at the end when it all was cooking. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States