Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
when i looked over this recipe, i couldnt figure out why nobody had reviewed it because it sounded so good. so i decided to give it a try. i made it for my boyfriend and my family for valentines day. my family loves spaghetti and they thought this recipe was fantastic! it is one of the best sauces i have ever tried and made. i highly suggest it!!! i made afew minor changes but mainly stuck to the recipe. it is so flavorful! if you are looking for a good sauce i would try this one. changes i made: cut the sausage into tiny meatballs instead of lenghtwise added all of the juice from the whole tomotoes added extra basil and oragano to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenkennedy
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
absolutely delicious, i made this for a family get together and everyone was impressed, should`ve doubled the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this was. Leftovers are great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the only way I ever make spaghetti. Soooo much better than making your meat sauce with ground beef. To save time, I just remove the casings and break up the sausage with my wooden spoon as it cooks. Try to find a good Italian deli to buy fresh sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Indeed the best spaghetti I've made at home thus far (my husband's favorite spaghetti). Gave it four stars because the amount of salt was a bit too much for us, so I reduced it to less than 1/4 tsp... we could probably do without added salt altogether. We've made it with and without sausage- both good. Also made it with 1 Tbsp. dried oregano vs. fresh... great that way too. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Our new favorite! Changed up a few things according to dietary restrictions - left out salt, used Dreamfields low-carb pasta. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Really tasty spaghetti sauce. I added 1/2 a cup of white wine to the recipe. I also cut the sausage up and added it back to the pot. I was also tempted to add diced tomatoes the first time I made this, but it was not a swift move. It is not meant to be a thin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Definitely omit the salt... added a little cayenne pepper for a little kick. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very hearty and chunky pasta sauce. I added about 1/2 cup red wine and let the sauce simmer all day! I put a few leaves of fresh torn basil on mine right before eating. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent! I added green bell peppers to my sauce and added a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States