Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
when i looked over this recipe, i couldnt figure out why nobody had reviewed it because it sounded so good. so i decided to give it a try. i made it for my boyfriend and my family for valentines day. my family loves spaghetti and they thought this recipe was fantastic! it is one of the best sauces i have ever tried and made. i highly suggest it!!! i made afew minor changes but mainly stuck to the recipe. it is so flavorful! if you are looking for a good sauce i would try this one. changes i made: cut the sausage into tiny meatballs instead of lenghtwise added all of the juice from the whole tomotoes added extra basil and oragano to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenkennedy
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
absolutely delicious, i made this for a family get together and everyone was impressed, should`ve doubled the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great stuff, a family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent! I added green bell peppers to my sauce and added a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a really tasty spaghetti sauce!!! Absolutely loved by my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the only way I ever make spaghetti. Soooo much better than making your meat sauce with ground beef. To save time, I just remove the casings and break up the sausage with my wooden spoon as it cooks. Try to find a good Italian deli to buy fresh sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Oh yeah! One of the best spaghetti sauces I've found yet. Hearty, flavorful, yet not an overpowering tomato base. Made as written except I did use an additional 3 links of Italian sausage. Like other reviewers, I sliced the sausage into small meatballs and didn't remove the casings. Next time I'll use fresh basil and oregano, but used dried since this is what I had on hand. Five minutes in the oven at 350* to melt the fresh parmesan cheese was perfect. Thanks hungryguy for this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this was. Leftovers are great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Definitely omit the salt... added a little cayenne pepper for a little kick. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very hearty and chunky pasta sauce. I added about 1/2 cup red wine and let the sauce simmer all day! I put a few leaves of fresh torn basil on mine right before eating. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States