Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
The beauty of this sauce is in it's simplicity. It's a bit of a meat lover's sauce (personal opinion) but this makes a great base recipe to do whatever you want to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I gave this four stars because it seems like the sausage as well as the beef is too much meat, but perhaps that's personal preference. Anyway this is a great, restaurant-style type of spaghetti sauce that's still easy to make with ingredients you have at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great Spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
The bones of this sauce are good, but I felt it needed something... I used 3 links of sausage instead of 2. Like other reviewers, I sliced in half and cooked, and then crumbled it in while simmering. I also added an entire 28 oz can (juice and all) of whole peeled tomatoes, but cut them into smaller pieces as I have picky family members. I couldn't find fresh oregano at the store, so used dry in 1/2 the amount. After all together, my taster told me the sauce needed more depth to counter the salt and meat, so I added 1 can of tomato paste, 1 c of water, and about 1 T of sugar. Now it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Excellent. Whole family loved it. A few minor adjustments. A lot of reviews here talked about how there was too much salt. So I did not add any salt until the sauce, and I used seasoning salt and salted to taste. Also I removed the whole tomatoes prior to serving. I also used 3 sausages instead of 2. I cooked them, then cut them into pieces instead of leaving them whole and then mixed with the beef, onions & garlic once the beef had browned. Everything else was made according to the recipe. Wonderful! I would make again, this is my new go to for Spaghetti. We ate late, so we didn't really have time to melt the cheese on top but I'm sure it would have tasted even better. In the future I would probably use a bit more sauce and use 4-5 sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Excellent recipie. My husband and his buddies gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was wonderful. My entire family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I like this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is now THE spaghetti when I don't want to cook the 5 hour sauce I usually make. My husband is picky about his sauce and requested this again right away. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
very good...took me back to my childhood - comfort spaghetti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States