Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I am not rating this higher, because I have this recipe in the oven right now. What surprised me was that the recipe called for a 9x13 pan and the recipe ingredients were not nearly enough to fill that size pan. I did not see any comments about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I am not sure if I got the recipe from this site or not, but this has been my FAVORITE cornbread for years and I lost it! I am happy to have it back!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family LOVED this cornbread recipe. It went well with the black-eyed peas and collard greens for the New Year! AWESOME and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is very similar to a corn pudding recipe of a now defunct mexican restaurant chain of which I used to be a general manager. People were always asking for the recipe. Instead of creamed corn we'd use kernel corn and instead of milk we'd use heavy cream. We used to make much larger batches and since we're not using creamed corn I've estimated that you should use about a cup of the heavy cream. We also used to use a steamer oven to cook it so put a pan of water on a rack at the lowest level. That will bring this up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made changes based on comments. It definitely needed to be doubled, or it would have been really flat. I doubled everything except the canned corn, and I used only 1/4 cup of sugar. I also added 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter. It was a big hit and some said it was the best cornbread they had ever had. Next time I'll try it with some jalapeno added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Followed recipe exactly as written and this was excellent. Very moist and sweet - no butter needed. Hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I LOVE this cornbread recipe! I am not a fan of "dry" cornbread, but this is the exact opposite of dry. It is moist, sweet and delicious. I love to eat it hot out of the oven. I have also served it with chili on top. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
made this the other night to go along with a pot of chili. it was excellent!!! i did cut back on the sugar, as a lot of reviewers suggested, and i used a package of jiffy corn muffin mix (becase it was the cheapest). definetly a new staple to make with my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
SO GOOD and easy too! I would probably classify these as sweet corn cakes. The cornbread mix I bought was a 15 oz box so I doubled the milk, eggs, and sugar and used a whole can of creamed corn. Baked these up as muffins to go with the ham and lentil soup also from this site. Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very quick and easy, and very good. I keep a box of cornbread mix handy now for whenever I want to serve chile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States