Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very easy and delicious, but I am only giving 4 stars instead of 5 because the instructions are a little off. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, as others suggested, and this was more than enough. I cannot imagine how it would taste with the full 1/2 cup. I made muffins (I ended up with 9), but they did not rise at all - therfore, I think it would be too flat if made in a 9x13 pan. I will definitely make again, but with less sugar, and a muffin tin or 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I didn't read the directions thoroughly and added 1 14.75 oz can of creamed corn rather than 8 oz. it still came out pretty tasty- I'm guessing a little chewier than intended. I also omitted sugar and drizzled 1-2 tablespoons of honey on top before baking. It was like a special little treat biting into a thread of honey running through the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It is an eat with a fork moist corn cake, not like a traditional cornbread. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Delicious, but very thin in a 9x13 pan. I would try to do this in a 9x9 next time for a longer baking time. We spooned it out of the 9x13 though and ate with a fork. Very sweet, yes... but we like that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
AMAZING! I've been searching for thus recipe for almost a month. I didn't use all the sugar suggested knowing the creamed corn is sweet. I also added 1/4 flax seed to bump up the fiber/nutrition. My picky eaters LOVED these! Will become a frequent recipe on our monthly menus. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My kids said these tasted like cornbread brownies. While I'm sure that is considered a 5-star in their book, I'm giving it a 3. I'm still searching for the perfect cornbread . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is definitely a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeana
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Simple recipe that works!! I baked it in my 8" cast iron skillet and it looks amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Came out pretty tasty. Cut a slice and put it right on top of my home made chili also an allrecipes recipe :-) HOWEVER I think a 13x9 pan is crazy for this small recipe. I will DEF use an 8x8 next time. Hope ya'll have good results too. Oh and it will look super soupy... comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. But I think next time I'll make it in an 8x8 pan. Mine was thin, almost like a bar cookie, but wonderful just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States