Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have made a dish similiar to this before but couldn't find the recipe for it, so I turned to Allrecipes.com for help and this recipe best fit the one I had used in the past. I followed other reviewers advice and cut back on the sugar, using a little less than 1/4 cup. I added some jarred jalapenos and onions that I finely chopped. I cooked my in a slightly smaller dish than the recipe called for, thus cooking it about 7 minutes more. Elewise I followed the recipe as written. Very tasty, will add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe is now as staple for every family gathering but I have to warn everyone that the 9 X 13 pan is WAY too large (even the photo shown is not a 9 X 13) - unless you like your cornbread 1/4 inch thin and dry. I use an 8 X 8 and increase cooking time (my oven is from the 60s so everything is increased!). The cornbread then comes out thick and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is EXACTLY what I have been looking for! It's very moist and a HUGE favorite. Like previous reviews, I skipped out on the sugar and it turned out absolutely perfect. I also used the JIFFY cornbread mix, and baked mine for about 40 minutes. Will definately use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie.oakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
We thought this was very good, although I also decreased the sugar by half. My kids loved them, and they were gobbled up by everyone, so there were no leftovers to worry about! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Loved this cornbread...it was so moist from the creamed corn. I left out the sugar because I hate sweet cornbread. this is my new cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Alton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetCook
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I loved this cornbread recipe. It was awesome. I followed it as directed except 1> I did not add any sugar as suggested by other reviewers using the “sweetened” creamed corn it came out sweet enough. If you prefer sweeter corn bread I suggest adding sugar to taste 2> Also per other reviewers I used the Jiffy mix. 3>I also cooked it for about 30mins and then let it sit on the counter top for 5-10mins. It was sooooo warm and gooey, even better the next day! My husband who had never tasted cornbread with real corn in it before was skeptical at first but when he tasted it he was really really pleased. Using a 8x9 pan it was still thin so next time I will use double the recipe. But great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I found this recipe at the beginning of the summer and it is hands-down my favorite cornbread! I've taken it to graduation parties, picnics, camp-outs and make it at least once a week to accompany dinner...my husband could eat a pan of it himself! Everyone that I've served it to wants the recipe(and 2nds although there usually isn't enough!) The only change I made to the original recipe is putting the batter into a smaller pan...that way it comes out thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Too "corny" for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very moist and delicious. I omitted the sugar and added some diced jalapeno. I would bake in a square pan next time, I used an 11x7 and the cornbread came out quite thin. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States