Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I followed the recipe almost exactly (as per other suggestions, I added slightly less sugar) and I used the Jiffy cornbread mix, but I was just not impressed. It would do in a pinch, but I felt the flavour was pretty bland and nothing special. Oh yea, and I used a 8x8 square baking pan- the 13x9 must be an error. I'll keep searching for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is sooo yummy! My mother in law practically ate the whole pan- and asked for the recipe! I too made it in a round pan for about 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is the cornbread recipe I'd always wished to find - perfectly moist, not too sweet, and doesn't taste like a convenience food. I made a few changes, but nothing drastic: I skipped the sugar entirely (the creamed corn is already sweetened), used 1% milk instead of regular, and baked it in muffin cups (350 degrees for 25 minutes). I will make this again and again with no other changes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This cornbread is sweet, soft, moist, and melts in your mouth. This is the best cornbread I've ever had! Will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I love this cornbread. I use the Jiffy boxed cornbread mix and it turns out delicious everytime. I usually double the recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan for thicker bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I really liked this! I doubled the recipe and then added fontina cheese on top and let it melt in the warm oven. It was soooo good! My daughter who's 4 loved it and so did my husband. Reminded me of a Cheese on a stick (Corn Dog but with cheese instead of a hot dog) It's a huge carnival yummy! YUMM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamaria Settanni McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is not hold in your hand bread. This is eat with a fork and know that you are gaining weight but loving it anyway. If you want the dry crumbly kind of corn bread this is not it. This stuff is so good my kids think it is dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Good, moist, but not overly sweet. I didn't use any sugar. Not the cornbread I made on New Year's - I need to find that one again! Try Awesome and Easy Corn Casserole(?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Vacin Schwendiman
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is the best cornbread I've ever had. Thanks for sharing. I added jalapenos for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have made a dish similiar to this before but couldn't find the recipe for it, so I turned to Allrecipes.com for help and this recipe best fit the one I had used in the past. I followed other reviewers advice and cut back on the sugar, using a little less than 1/4 cup. I added some jarred jalapenos and onions that I finely chopped. I cooked my in a slightly smaller dish than the recipe called for, thus cooking it about 7 minutes more. Elewise I followed the recipe as written. Very tasty, will add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States