Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was a fairly good recipe but it was a little too sweet. I would cut the sugar in half. Creamed corn is already sweet. The texture was sticky, but a good change from the typical corn bread. It wasn't too dry which is, in my opinion, the worst part of most corn bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very good cornbread! I cut the sugar in half but it was too sweet anyway. I bet it depends on the cornbread mix you're using. I was using Marie Calendars corn bread mix. Thanks for sharing the recipe! My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wonderful if you like sweet and savory! I added a few things as well:1/4c bacon bits, 1/2-3/4c chopped ham, 1 sm can diced green chilis, 1/4c butter and 3/4-1c fiesta blend cheese or mont jack/cheddar mix. Add all ingredients except butter in bowl plus original recipe's ingredients. Melt butter in 13X9 in pan in oven then pour batter into pan. So goooooood!!! Wanted to add New Mexico green chilis instead of canned green chilis but too hot for kids. REALLY tasty and makes a complete meal if you add a green salad on the side. Very decadent though...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
FINALLY! I found cornbread recipe that does not fall apart on me!!! And all of my test subjects, oh I mean, family and friends I have made this for so far just love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was pretty good! I'll admit to preferring savory foods, but I opted for this recipe because it's kid-friendly. Corn happens top be the only vegetable my daughter likes. While this recipe is sweet, it sure is a healthier alternative for an after school snack than some of our other choices. I opted to make this recipe in a cast iron skillet. I used the whole 14.5 oz can of creamed corn; the corbread was very moist on the inside and nice and crispy on the bottom and sides from the pan. I'm not sure how long I baked it, maybe 20-25 minutes; my oven is nor calibrated correctly so I usually just eye stuff for doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought they would be moist due to the can of cream corn but they were extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fantastic! Simple to make and delicious to boot. I didn't have any milk so I used some powdered milk (3 T) and 1/3 c. water. I used 1/4 c. vanilla sugar and 1/4. c honey. It was light and sweet. Mine needed to for about 40 minutes because I used a 7 X 11 pan for a taller cornbread - and the edges still weren't burned. It was fabulous. I made a bit of honey butter to spread on the top. Can't say enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was excellent. Very sweet, but that is how my family likes it. My dad liked it with plain butter, but everyone else loved it with chipotle butter. It would be great for breakfast too. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
So GOOD! So EASY! I threw out my other cornbread recipes. Even my son-in-law (long time hater of cornbread) LOVED THIS! Grandkids approved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Moist and very corny! Excellent with Debdoozie's Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Dawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States