Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
i had a can of cream corn that nobody would eat plain so i made this. this has all great reviews so i hate to leave a sub par one but this doesnt need a 1/2 cup of sugar i cut it in half and this came out more like cake than cornbread. sorry just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This wasn't too bad, needed to be cooked longer mine was still pretty mushy, I guess if your inlove with cream corn you'll really like this cornbread, however I love cornbread more than cream corn so I probably wouldn't waste another loaf of delicious corn bread on this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
yum! 1/4 c sugar instead and be sure to use a less sweet cornbread mix like jiffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Sweet and moist! The first dish finished at our potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made the recipe as written except I knew to use a smaller pan (I used 8x8). I thought that 1/2 cup of sugar might be too sweet, but I read the first 7 top rated reviews and no one said it needed to be less, so I followed the recipe. I like sweets, but YIKES!!! We did like the moistness and the texture, but it tasted sickly sweet to us. At first I thought next time I'll reduce it to 1/4 cup, but both the corn bread/muffin mix and the cream corn has sugar in it and I'm not sure if it needs more sugar added to still be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is without a doubt the best corn bread I have ever had. I did reduce the sugar per other reviews and it was perfect. I hate dry corn bread and have been searching for a moist recipe for years. I found it! And it's so easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Super easy, 5-minute-prep side dish. I used Jiffy corn muffin mix, unsweetened plain almond milk, and half a full-size (15oz) can of creamed corn. I only used a scant 1/4 cup sugar, based on reviews. Baked it in an 8x8 pyrex dish. It's not the same as making it from scratch - at all - but it tasted good with veggie chili. My kidlet could make this on her own, which is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Yum! Double everything but the canned corn. 350 for 30 mins was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Not like traditional cornbread. Very moist, and very much like a dessert bread. Still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryyyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The best cornbread I have ever had. Usually cornbread is dry and mealy. This cornbread is more like a corn cake. It is sweet and moist. Pairs well w/holiday meals, BBQs, and chili. Wonderful recipe (also very forgiving if you dont quite have the right amounts of the ingredients it always comes out well). I get compliments on it ALL THE TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States