Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is better than the Cici's brand corn cake mix I used to buy. Wonderfully sweet and delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is the best cornbread ever! My whole family loves it. I double everything except the creamed corn to make enough for 6 of us. I've also taken it to Thanksgiving dinner at my family's house and they raved about it too. Everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious cornbread! Used with "Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili, another great recipe from this site. It is a bit sweeter than traditional cornbread but I like it that way. The only thing I will do differently is change my bake pan. I used a 9x13 glass pyrex and I think it was a spread too thin in that. Next time I will use just a little bit smaller pan and that would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
5 stars when after I changed it up a little. My version tasted wonderful and moist. I used Jiffy corn bread mix, which is sweet enough NO sugar needed, added 1 small diced onion about 3/4 cup and 1/2 cup of diced green bell peppers, 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, and the rest of the listed ingredients except sugar. Baked at 400 for 15-20 minutes in a sprayed 8x8 glass pan. Came out perfect tasted wonderful with 13 bean spicy soup. I usually always change recipes to suit my southern taste and I've never had a complaint. :) Happy cooking everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My boyfriend loved this recipe. I will definitely make this again. Won't use jiffy corn mix without these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Doubled the recipe and instead of cake pan I used greased spuare muffin pans. Worked perfect. This is my go to cornbread recipe. Thanx Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Different but good. Helpful hint, do not use a 9 x 13 pan mentioned in the recipe above; the bread comes out very very thin, try a smaller 9 x 9 or 8 x 8 pan and bake longer than 30 minutes, I suggest at least 35 to 40 depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very easy and delicious, but I am only giving 4 stars instead of 5 because the instructions are a little off. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, as others suggested, and this was more than enough. I cannot imagine how it would taste with the full 1/2 cup. I made muffins (I ended up with 9), but they did not rise at all - therfore, I think it would be too flat if made in a 9x13 pan. I will definitely make again, but with less sugar, and a muffin tin or 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I didn't read the directions thoroughly and added 1 14.75 oz can of creamed corn rather than 8 oz. it still came out pretty tasty- I'm guessing a little chewier than intended. I also omitted sugar and drizzled 1-2 tablespoons of honey on top before baking. It was like a special little treat biting into a thread of honey running through the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It is an eat with a fork moist corn cake, not like a traditional cornbread. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States