Camp Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wow. So good. I added in a chopped jalapeno pepper. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My family and myself always eat allot of chili, but this recipe gave it a different twist. My wife and my daughter could not get enough of it on their first serving. We finished up the chili in one night. Excellent Chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Really tasty, I didn't serve it over rice but instead served it in a sour dough bowl and it was a BIG hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I have made this three times now at home in my crock pot and boy is it a favorite to everyone. It is easy to prepare and make and it tastes great too. Great recipe. I recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I happened to have some pork and beans around the house and didn't know what to do with them because they don't taste that great out of the can. So I followed this recipe and made chili for the first time. It was so good! The only downside is that the recipe produces a bland chili, so I added extra red pepper powder, cumin, cocoa, cinnamon, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Three cheers Peter! We loved this but I did make a few changes: First, I halved the recipe. Second, while browning the onions/garlic/beef, I added a good dash of all-season salt. Then, when it came time to add the beans/tomatoes, I omitted the kidney beans (none available) BUT I added a 15oz can of tomato sauce, and a couple good shakes of paprika and cumin. Once you let this simmer - it thickens nicely and the flavors are GREAT! We didn't serve over rice b/c we thought it was great w/out it BUT we did sprinkle some sharp cheddar cheese over our bowls to melt. Great recipe and with the small changes I made - I will definately make this again...esspecially at our cabin this fall! Good & hearty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I did some minor adjustments to this great chili but overall everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love this recipe - simple, and versatile: witness the variations mentioned in various reviews here. It produces a rich and thick chili, with just the right flavor that you can spice up - or not - according to your taste. For me, it's great as is. It's also great when I decide to spice it up and make it hot with some hot sauce and hot pepper flakes. It's a great treat that can be adapted to anyone's taste. Bravo! I love it and encourage everyone to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I thought this was pretty good. I didn't have any pork and beans, so I added baked beans instead. I liked the taste, but my husband didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Added some seasonings for personal preference and stopped short of adding the rice. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States