Camp Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wow. So good. I added in a chopped jalapeno pepper. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Wasn't well liked by our family. The baked beans were too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
It is ok. I have had better. Granted I changed the recipe a little. I didn't put in as much onion, cause I thought that three onions sounded like a lot. And I cut back on the chili powder as well, knowing that my 4 year old would probably want to try it at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Added some seasonings for personal preference and stopped short of adding the rice. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love this recipe - simple, and versatile: witness the variations mentioned in various reviews here. It produces a rich and thick chili, with just the right flavor that you can spice up - or not - according to your taste. For me, it's great as is. It's also great when I decide to spice it up and make it hot with some hot sauce and hot pepper flakes. It's a great treat that can be adapted to anyone's taste. Bravo! I love it and encourage everyone to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I did some minor adjustments to this great chili but overall everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I thought this was pretty good. I didn't have any pork and beans, so I added baked beans instead. I liked the taste, but my husband didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Three cheers Peter! We loved this but I did make a few changes: First, I halved the recipe. Second, while browning the onions/garlic/beef, I added a good dash of all-season salt. Then, when it came time to add the beans/tomatoes, I omitted the kidney beans (none available) BUT I added a 15oz can of tomato sauce, and a couple good shakes of paprika and cumin. Once you let this simmer - it thickens nicely and the flavors are GREAT! We didn't serve over rice b/c we thought it was great w/out it BUT we did sprinkle some sharp cheddar cheese over our bowls to melt. Great recipe and with the small changes I made - I will definately make this again...esspecially at our cabin this fall! Good & hearty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Wasn't bad for a first try at chilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I happened to have some pork and beans around the house and didn't know what to do with them because they don't taste that great out of the can. So I followed this recipe and made chili for the first time. It was so good! The only downside is that the recipe produces a bland chili, so I added extra red pepper powder, cumin, cocoa, cinnamon, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States