Camp Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wow. So good. I added in a chopped jalapeno pepper. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Wasn't well liked by our family. The baked beans were too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
It is ok. I have had better. Granted I changed the recipe a little. I didn't put in as much onion, cause I thought that three onions sounded like a lot. And I cut back on the chili powder as well, knowing that my 4 year old would probably want to try it at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Added some seasonings for personal preference and stopped short of adding the rice. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love this recipe - simple, and versatile: witness the variations mentioned in various reviews here. It produces a rich and thick chili, with just the right flavor that you can spice up - or not - according to your taste. For me, it's great as is. It's also great when I decide to spice it up and make it hot with some hot sauce and hot pepper flakes. It's a great treat that can be adapted to anyone's taste. Bravo! I love it and encourage everyone to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I did some minor adjustments to this great chili but overall everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I thought this was pretty good. I didn't have any pork and beans, so I added baked beans instead. I liked the taste, but my husband didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Three cheers Peter! We loved this but I did make a few changes: First, I halved the recipe. Second, while browning the onions/garlic/beef, I added a good dash of all-season salt. Then, when it came time to add the beans/tomatoes, I omitted the kidney beans (none available) BUT I added a 15oz can of tomato sauce, and a couple good shakes of paprika and cumin. Once you let this simmer - it thickens nicely and the flavors are GREAT! We didn't serve over rice b/c we thought it was great w/out it BUT we did sprinkle some sharp cheddar cheese over our bowls to melt. Great recipe and with the small changes I made - I will definately make this again...esspecially at our cabin this fall! Good & hearty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Wasn't bad for a first try at chilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I happened to have some pork and beans around the house and didn't know what to do with them because they don't taste that great out of the can. So I followed this recipe and made chili for the first time. It was so good! The only downside is that the recipe produces a bland chili, so I added extra red pepper powder, cumin, cocoa, cinnamon, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States