Cameroonian Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a really great and tasty way to get your dose of dark leafy greens, shiitake mushrooms, and garlic. It's a family favorite side dish that goes GREAT with black bean garlic pork chops or sesame garlic chicken! I do recommend the use of fresh chopped or pressed garlic in addition to garlic powder or salt to give it that extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was quite nice for a side dish (I had it with meatloaf). I made it as written, with maybe a little more shiitakes since I had some to us up. I got baby spinach in 6-ounce bags, so I just weighed out 10 ounces for this recipe. I didn't eat this with my fingers, for the full experience, but I enjoyed it. It's going into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I went heavy on the shiitake mushrooms and added a bit of salt, but otherwise prepared it as described. Really yummy, easy, quick, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Pretty good. Only change made was to use button mushrooms instead of shiitake as I don't like the woodsy flavor they have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was fast and easy. I used canned sliced button mushrooms and only a quarter of an onion. I had to add more olive oil though. I did sprinkle a bit of salt over the dish as it cooked. This was good but needed more flavor or something to pep it up. Thanks, we enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I prepare spinach like this routinely, sometimes with mushrooms, sometimes without, and always with fresh minced garlic. This was the first time using shitake mushrooms, however, and I liked the firmer, more substantive texture and earthy flavor they contributed (even though they sort of look like slugs). Five to seven minutes is too long a cooking time - a few minutes should do it, just until the spinach wilts and retains its vibrant green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
It's delicious. And yeah, definitely use frozen spinach; it's 1/10th the cost of "fresh" and really, I only consider something fresh if it's been picked the same day I use it. Bagged spinach has been sitting on a truck, then in a store for days if not a week or more, losing all it's nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This should have been amazing, but i really botched it. Word to the wise: DO NOT substitute garlic powder with a haphazard improvisation of pepper, Mrs. Dash and crushed red pepper flakes. GROSS! Such a shame! Halfway into my preparations, i realized that i had left my shiitake mushrooms AND garlic powder at my boyfriend's house...what are the odds? well, my attempt to salvage the recipe stunk, but i definitely want to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
A nice change of pace from the regular spinach dish. I added some parmesan for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Only 4 stars since I added to it: I used fresh garlic, added a tsp or so of lemon juice, a dash of crushed red pepper and a dash or two of Worcestershire sauce to jazz it up. It was very good. My husband wrinkled up his nose at it until he tasted it, he thought he only liked canned spinach. He had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States