Camembert Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Just as advertised, very easy and ritzy. As usual I made a few small changes to the recipe. Our son was home from college with a group so I had to multiply and as the number changed, I changed the principle method of cooking the chicken from pan to oven. The only thing I would change is how to handle the cheese. Camembert is very similar to Brie which could be used. I wasn't sure how to handle the corn starch skin. I reasoned the corn starch would become incorporated and add to the thickening. It didn't. The next time I thought I would heat the cheese separately and add it to the green onion butter mixture, don't. Next time I'll trim the cheese "skin" and have a snack while cooking. This recipe is a keeper, quick easy and kinda fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
What a delicious meal, and so easy to make. The mustard in the sauce added that extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I used brie (rind removed) instead of Camembert, and the sauce came out smooth, rich, and very tasty with a hint of spiciness from the mustard. I also used only 2 chicken breasts and used the extra sauce over steamed asparagus spears -- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This is a WINNER. Rich and creamy with a great depth of flavor from the mustard, green onion and Camembert. This is a great low-carb dinner recipe too if you OMIT FLOUR and use HEAVY CREAM(it will thicken itself,if you cook down) instead of milk. The "star" of this recipe, is the avocado, so I wouldn't skip that. Nicole Jansen, this is excellent! If I wasn't doing low-carb, I wouldn't of changed a thing; esp. the Camembert. Thank you for a different,delicious, quick and great- for-company recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Absolute LOVED this recipe! Going to make it again tonight! I really like the tangy-ness of the mustard :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very quick and easy! And so delicious. I followed someone else's suggestion and made less chicken and used the rest of the sauce over cooked asparagus...oh to die for! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Excellent and easy! Rather than make the sauce in a separate pan, I removed the chicken breasts from the frying pan, deglazed with a little wine, then continued with the sauce, adding more onion that called for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kennebunkport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I was unimpressed. It was okay, but I was expecting much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was so so good and the avacado just made the dish. The only downside was that I had to learn to get everything prepared ahead of time. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This sauce was nice. In some of the reviews, some said it was too mild -- if that's the case, definitely use the camembert and NOT brie, as camembert has a stronger flavor. And, you could just add a bit more of the cheese. I had problems with the flour leaving lumps... probably my fault since I'm not good at flour mixtures. As with other reviewers, I found the avocado to be the highlight of the dish. Also, I just used frozen, breaded chicken from Costco and cooked it in the oven, served the sauce on top. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States